Five Pillars of Family Engagement

  • Ongoing effective communication
  • Sharing expectations and making joint decisions
  • Welcoming environments
  • Extending learning at home
  • Supporting transitions

The New York City Department of Education has developed The Partnership Standards for Schools and Families to show how schools and families can engage each other in support of student achievement.  The Division of Early Childhood Education has developed further guidance, The Five Pillars of Family Engagement, aligned with the five Partnership Standards, which focus on expectations for the early grades, especially pre-kindergarten.