Standards and Curriculum

Empire State Information Fluency Continuum  The Empire State Information Fluency Continuum provides a K-12 framework for the instructional aspects of a library program. The framework is based on three standards that form the basis for the skills and strategies that are essential for students to become independent readers and learners.  The Empire State Information Fluency Continuum is endorsed by the School Library Systems Association of New York State  and aligned to the Common Core Learning Standards. 

The Empire State Information Fluency Continuum includes:
  • Information Fluency Continuum
  • Information Fluency Continuum Benchmark Skills
  • Grade-by-Grade Information Fluency Benchmark Skills
  • K-12 Information Fluency Continuum Priority Benchmark Skills Brochure
  • Information Fluency Continuum: Priority Benchmark Skills and Assessments
  • REACTS Taxonomy
  • Information Fluency Continuum and Common Core Learning Standards  

Empire State Information Fluency Continuum K-12 Priority Benchmark Skills Booklet (color)

Stripling Model of Inquiry

Citizenship in the Digital Age This publication was supported by Federal Library Services and Technology Act funds, awarded to the New York State Library by the Federal Institute of Museum and Library Services.  The guide contains sample lessons from grades 1 to 12 in the areas of responsibility and online safety.  The lessons are aligned to the NYC Information Fluency Continuum and Common Core Learning Standards.