< December >  
No events scheduled for 12/4/2016
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • vimeo
  • notify NYC

Yearly Testing

New York State Mathematics Test

Who takes this test?

Students in grades 3–8 take the State Mathematics Test each spring. These assessments measure the Common Core Learning Standards (CCLS).
English Language Learners are required to take the State math tests, but may take a test translated into Chinese, Haitian Creole, Korean, Russian, or Spanish. When tests are not available in the student's native language, the test may be translated orally. Students with disabilities may take the New York State Alternate Assessments (NYSAA) in place of the general State test, if specified on their Individualized Education Plans (IEPs).

What is on the test?

The math test is a timed test that contains a mixture of different types of questions. See the Academics page for more information about how math is taught in New York City.

How are the results reported?

The number of correct answers a student gives on a test is converted into the student’s “scale score.” The scale score makes it possible to compare performance on the tests across different grades. Scale scores are divided into four performance levels.

Schools distribute test results on Individual Student Reports (ISRs) to every parent. The ISRs include the student's scale score, performance level, and information on his or her strengths and weaknesses in the different skill areas tested.

How are the results used?

Educators use individual student test results to assign students to the appropriate classes and to identify areas where the student needs extra help, or where he or she may be ready for more challenging material. Teachers and principals also use the results from the whole class, grade, or school, to identify areas where they can improve instruction.