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SUMMARY OF CHANGES

This regulation updates and supersedes Chancellor's Regulation A-750 dated August6,2009.January 20,
2011.

Changes:

. Ihreregulatrenmrpdate@ereﬂeetReﬂects the current Department of Educatlon gDOE} organlzatlon

|nclud|ng C

o Reflects NYCDOE policy, as set forth in detail in Chancellor’'s Regulation A-210, that when a student is
absent for ten (10) or more consecutive days for unexplained reasons, educational harm may be
presumed and schools must conduct an investigation to determine whether the absences may be
related to educational neglect. (pp. 5-6, Section |.E.2).

e Provides that schools must monitor the daily attendance of students in foster care and students whose
families are or recently were involved in an investigation by the Administration for Children’s Services
(ACS) as a result of a report of suspected neglect or maltreatment made by DOE personnel to the State

Central Register (SCR) (referred to in this regulation as ACS-involved students). . 9-11, Section Ill).

e Provides that by using an existing data match between ACS and DOE, schools will regularly receive
updated information regarding ACS-involved students in their schools to the extent permitted pursuant
to applicable legal authority. (p. 10, Section II.B).

e Provides that schools must conduct parent outreach and escalate concerns regarding ACS-involved
students to ACS and SCR in accordance with this regulation and the Tiered Response Protocol for
High-Risk Cases of Educational Neglect and Unexplained Absence (Tiered Response Protocol). (pp.
9-11, Section IIl).

o Clarifies that the FSC Deputy Directors for Student Services receive data regarding students involved
with ACS and grovrdes that these degutg directors are resgonsmle for dlsaggregatmg the data bg

websrte—éSeeeSeetlen—\AH—page%Establlshes that when a staff member has reasonable cause to
suspect that an ACS-involved student has been abused, maltreated, or neglected, the staff member
must: a) immediately report the suspicion to the New York State Central Register (SCR) in accordance

with this regulation; and b) contact ACS in accordance with the procedures set forth in the Tiered
Response Protocol. (p. 11, Section [II.D).

Q—}Clarrﬂes the resgonsrbllrtles of the FSC Degut;g D|rectors for Student Servrces as they relate to Chl|
abuse prevention and intervention and implementation of the Tiered Response Protocol. . 11-12

Section V).
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ABSTRACT

This regulation updates and supersedes Chancellor's Regulation A-750

dated August-6:-2009.January 20, 2011.

New York State’s Social Services Law commonly called The Child
Protective Services Law, mandates that school personnel report all cases
of suspected child abuse and neglect directly to the State Central
Register. This regulation updates and sets forth the obligations of school
personnel to report andsuspected maltreatment, cooperate with
investigations conducted by child protective service workers, and escalate
concerns regarding absences of students involved with the Administration
for Children’s Services.

PREFACE

A child is considered abused or maltreated if the child is less than 18 years old (21 years old or less if in a
residential placement) and a parent or other person legally responsible for the child’s care harms the child,
creates substantial risk of harm, or fails to exercise a minimum degree of care to protect the child.

Below are summary definitions of abuse, neglect and maltreatment.
PHYSICAL ABUSE

Where the parent or person legally responsible for a child’s care inflicts or allows to be inflicted upon such
child non-accidental physical injury or where a parent or person legally responsible for a child’s care creates
or allows to be created a substantial risk of non-accidental physical injury to such child. The term injury
includes but is not limited to superficial bruises, welts, broken bones and other serious injuries, injuries
which cause or would be likely to cause protracted impairment of physical or emotional health, and injuries
which create a substantial risk of or cause death.

NEGLECT

The withholding of or failure to provide a child with adequate food, shelter, clothing, hygiene, medical care,
and/or supervision needed for growth and development.

SEXUAL ABUSE

The sexual exploitation of a child by a parent, guardian, relative, caretaker, or other person which may
range from non-touching offenses, such as exhibitionism, to fondling, intercourse, or use of a child in the
production of pornographic materials.

EMOTIONAL ABUSE

Acts or omissions that cause or could cause serious intellectual, behavioral or psychological dysfunction as
a result of such parent’s or caretaker’'s behavior. Emotional neglect — the withholding of physical and
emotional contact to the detriment of the child’s normal emotional development. Must be attributed to
unwillingness or inability of the parent or custodian to exercise a minimum degree of care toward the child.

EDUCATIONAL NEGLECT

Educational neglect is considered to be the failure of a parent, or person legally responsible for a child, to
ensure their child’s prompt and regular attendance in school or the keeping of a child out of school for
impermissible reasons resulting in an adverse effect on the child’s educational progress or imminent danger
of such an adverse effect.
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PROCEDURES FOR REPORTING TO THE NEW YORK STATE CENTRAL REGISTER FOR

CHILD ABUSE AND MALTREATMENT

A

Making a Report

1.

All pedagogical and non-pedagogical school personnel are mandated reporters for
child abuse. For Educational-Neglect referrals—please—see—Section—.E-below
andProcedures for making educational neglect referrals are set forth in Section L.E
below. For procedures pertaining to investigating the circumstances surrounding a
student’s unexplained absence to determine if a report to SCR is warranted, see
Chancellors Regulation A-210 - “Minimum—Standards—for—Attendance
Programs-"Investigation of Causes of Absence and the Form 407 Tracking System.”

a. When a child comes before a mandated reporter in his or her official or
professional school related capacity and the reporter has reasonable cause to
suspect that the child has been abused, maltreated or neglected (“child abuse”),
the reporter is required to report the suspicion to the New York State Central
Register (SCR) for Child Abuse and Maltreatment in Albany by telephoning the
toll-free number 1-800-635-1522. The reporter is not required to possess
certainty or to interview the child before a report is made, only reasonable
suspicion.

b.  Mandated reporters are also obligated to make a report if a parent, guardian,
custodian or other person legally responsible for such child comes before the
reporter in his/her professional or official capacity and states from personal
knowledge facts, conditions or circumstances which, if correct, would render the
child an abused or maltreated child.

C. The mandated reporter must provide the SCR with the name, title and contact
information for every staff person who is believed to have direct knowledge of the
allegations in the report, to the extent the reporter has this information. The
reporter must provide information about the alleged child abuse and the child,
including whether the child is receiving special education services and the nature
of the disability, to the extent the reporter has such knowledge.

When making the oral report, the caller must ask the SCR for the “Call 1.D.” number.
The “Call I.D.” number must be retained and used by school officials to complete the
New York State Office of Children and Family Services Form LDSS 2221-A and the
DOE On-Line Occurrence (OORS) Report. (See Section VII “Reporting to the
Chancellor.”) In addition, the caller should request from the SCR the findings of the
investigation.

After making the report to SCR, the mandated reporter must immediately (and no later
than the end of the school day), notify the principal/designee and provide him/her with
the “Call I.D.” number. As used in this regulation, "principal” also refers to the office
head of a non-school site. In school sites, the principal/designee must be a member of
the school Child Abuse Prevention and Intervention Team. The principal's/designee's
responsibilities are set forth below. If the principal chooses to delegate these
responsibilities, s/he must appoint a designee on an annual basis.

If the mandated reporter has reasonable cause to suspect child abuse and has direct
knowledge that a report has already been made to the SCR by another mandated
reporter in the school, he/she shall immediately either (1) report the suspicion to SCR
directly as set forth above or (2) consult with the principal/designee. If the
principal/designee confirms that another report has been made, he/she must
immediately provide the “Call 1.D.” number to the mandated reporter. If the
principal/designee does not provide the mandated reporter with the “Call 1.D.” number
by the end of the school day, or if the principal/designee does not confirm that a report
has already been made to the SCR, the mandated reporter must immediately call in the
report to the SCR and follow the procedures set forth above.
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5.  The principal/designee or staff member then must prepare a written report using form
LDSS 2221-A, within 48 hours after the phone call to the SCR. This report must include
the name, title and contact information for every staff person who is believed to have
direct knowledge of the allegation in the report. Where the written report of abuse
concerns a child with a disability, the report must include a description of the child's
disability and the medical or related services being provided. Copies of the form and
the email addresses may be obtained on the DOE Child Abuse Prevention website at:
http://schools.nyc.gov/StudentSupport/NonAcademicSupport/ChildAbuse/default.htm.

The report must include the “Call I.D.” number provided by the SCR on the report form.
This report must be emailed, mailed or faxed to the local Child Protective Service (CPS)
field office in the borough where the alleged subject of the report lives. Reports
concerning children in residential care facilities should be sent to the OCFS, P.O. Box
4480, Albany, New York 12204-0480, and reports concerning children in foster care
should be sent to the New York City Administration for Children Services’ Office of
Special Investigations at 127 West 127th Street — 3rd Floor, New York,
New York 10027. A copy of all reports must be kept in a separate file labeled Reports of
Suspected Child Abuse, and stored in a secure place accessible only to the principal or
his/her designee. A copy of the report is also to be sent to the Field Support Center

Deputy-Directorfor-Student-Services(FSC) Designee for child abuse matters.

6. If the principal/designee receives additional information regarding a LDSS 2221-A
written report that was previously made, the principal/designee must update that report
and include any new information regarding the name, title and contact information for
any additional staff person who has direct knowledge of the allegation. This updated
report must be submitted immediately as set forth above in
Section I.A.5.

7. Reports made by mandated reporters to the SCR are confidential, but reports cannot be
made anonymously (S.S.L. §422 (4)(a)-). Therefore, mandated reporters must provide
their names to the SCR. However, local CPS workers are prohibited from releasing the
name of the person making the report or the school affiliation to the parent or person in
a parental relationship. In addition, school employees are prohibited from disclosing
the name of the mandated reporter or confirming that the school made the report to the
family or any unauthorized individual. The identity of the reporting person may only be
given to the local CPS, to a court, grand jury, district attorney, police or other agencies
allowed access by the Social Services Law.

Any breach of confidentiality by a CPS worker in regard to the identity of the mandated
reporter to the family under investigation must be immediately reported to the
Department’s Office of Legal Services at (212) 374-6888.

8. If additional incidents of abuse or neglect occur involving the same child, such incidents
must also be reported whether or not reports have been made in the past.

Addresses of the respective borough CPS offices (for mailing of form LDSS 2221-A)

are:

Local Register Local Register

Manhattan Field Office Brooklyn Field Office
Applications Unit Applications Unit

55 West 125th Street - 3¢ Floor 1274 Bedford Ave. - 2" Floor
New York, NY 10027 Brooklyn, NY 11216
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Local Register Local Register
Bronx Field Office Queens Field Office
Applications Unit Applications Unit
2501 Grand Concourse 165-15 Archer Avenue - 3rd Floor
5th floor Jamaica, NY 11433

10.

Bronx, NY 10468

Local Register

Staten Island Field Office
Applications Unit

350 St. Mark’s Place - 3rd Floor
Staten Island, NY 10301

In reporting suspected child abuse, principals or their designees may take, or cause to
be taken at public expense, photographs of trauma visible on the child who is the
subject of a report. This will help preserve evidence for a subsequent investigation.
Photographs taken are to be sent to the appropriate local CPS field office via certified
mail or given to the investigating case worker.

School personnel may not request the assistance from, nor cooperate with, the Society
for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children (SPCC) in the reporting or the investigation of a
suspected child abuse or neglect case. While the SPCC is still in existence, this entity is
no longer contracted by the local CPS to conduct child abuse investigations. Therefore,
“reporting to private Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children is not an
acceptable alternative and does not comply with the legal reporting requirements.” All
reports of suspected child abuse must be made to the State Central Register.

Procedures for Cases of Imminent Danger to a Child

1.

2.

If a CPS worker has not responded by 3:00 p.m. and it is determined that the child’s life
and/or safety is in imminent danger if the child returns home, the principal or designee
must call 911 for emergency police assistance, after consulting with the Field-Suppert
CenterFSC Deputy Director for Student Services.

At any time, emergency medical service may be requested when warranted.

Procedures when SCR Declines a Report and/or Refers a Report to Police

1.

If a SCR operator declines to accept a report, the caller may request that a SCR
supervisor review the report. In some situations after restating the facts, the report will
be accepted by the supervisor. If a report is not accepted, it is recommended that the
reporter obtain the name of the SCR operator and/or supervisor who was on the
telephone call. In certain cases, the SCR will make a Law Enforcement Referral (LER)
and refer the call to the New York City Police Department when the SCR worker
determines that the person allegedly responsible for the abuse is other than the parent,
guardian or other legally responsible person and cannot be the subject of a child abuse
report, but determines that the alleged act or circumstance described may constitute a
crime or an immediate threat to the child’s safety.

When SCR refers certain calls to the New York City Police Department, school officials
must cooperate with the police investigation and district attorney’s office. Where the
NYPD wishes to question a student about a child abuse allegation against a parent,
guardian or custodian, the principal must permit the questioning to take place and must
not contact the parent, guardian or custodian. Where the police wish
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to question a student about a child abuse allegation against a person continually or
regularly found in the same household, the NYPD, after consultation with the principal
shall determine whether the questioning should take place without contacting the
parent and the principal shall act accordingly. In either case, the principal, or a person
with whom the child is comfortable with should be present during the interview, unless
the child indicates otherwise.

w

3. Achild’s records may be released if the police or district attorney informs the school that
it is investigating an allegation of child abuse or neglect. School officials must call the
Field-Suppert-CenterFSC Deputy Director for Student Services before releasing any
records to the police or district attorney. Parental consent is not required in these
circumstances because of an exception in the federal Family Educational Rights and
Privacy Act of 1974 which states, “An educational agency or institution may disclose
personally identifiable information from the education records of a student to the
appropriate parties in connection with an emergency if knowledge of the information is
necessary to protect the health and safety of a student or other individuals.”

4. Where the police wish to question students and/or staff or seek student records in
connection with allegations of abuse committed against a child by someone other than
a parent, guardian, custodian or individual continually or regularly found in the same
household, the procedures set forth in Chancellor's Regulation A-412 must be

followed.
D. Obligation to Report Misconduct to Special Commissioner of Investigation

Every employee or officer of the Department of Education has an affirmative obligation to
immediately report to the Special Commissioner of Investigation for the New York City School
District any information concerning sexual abuse and/or misconduct involving students by
Department of Education employees or others connected with school programs or services,
whether on or off school premises. The knowing failure of an employee or officer to report
said misconduct is cause for removal from office or employment.

The Special Commissioner of Investigation may be reached at:

(212) 510-1400
80 Maiden Lane - 20t Floor
New York, NY 10038

E. Policies and Procedures for Reporting Educational Neglect

1. Areport of educational neglect must be filed whenever a parent fails to ensure his/her
child’s prompt and regular attendance in school or keeps the child out for impermissible
reasons. A report must be filed when the following conditions exist:*

e The student is absent from school; and

o There is reasonable cause to suspect that the parentsareparent is aware or should
have been aware of the illegal-absenteeism;absences; and

e There is reasonable cause to suspect that the parents contributed to the
problemchild’s absences or are failing to take steps to effectively address the
problem and return the child to school (i.e., failure to provide a minimum degree of
care); and

e There is reasonable cause to suspect educational impairment/harm to the child or
imminent danger of impairment/harm (proof of actual educational harm is not
necessary so long as harm can be reasonably presumed).

‘In situations in which a child is being home schooled, the Commissioners Regulations §100.10,
which sets forth requirements applicable to home schooling, should be consulted in considering
whether an educational neglect report to SCR is warranted. (See Regulations and SED guidance at
http://schools.nyc.gov/StudentSupport/StudentAttendance/HomeSchooling/default.htm)
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a. In accordance with Section IV.B of Chancellor's Regulation A-210, when a child is
absent for ten (10) consecutive days, educational harm may be presumed and
schools must conduct an expedited inquiry in order to determine whether the
absences may be related to educational neglect. A Form 407 Attendance
Follow-up and Outreach Referral will be automatically generated for all schools
for this purpose.

b. The school must record all information, outreach efforts, and interventions in

either the ILOG System on ATS, directly on the Form 407, and/or as a comment
code in ATS. If the Form 407 case cannot be resolved at the school level, the

case must be referred to an attendance teacher for further investigation.
C. Outreach and intervention must address the following factors:

i The school’s efforts to provide notification of the child’s absences to the
parent;

ii. The role of the parent: whether the school has been unable to make contact
with the parent despite outreach efforts, whether the parent has resisted or
rejected the school’'s requests for information and assistance; whether the
parent cannot provide an explanation for a child’s absences; and

iii. Other considerations: whether the investigation of causes of absence
reveals indicators of other forms of abuse or maltreatment.

iv. Based upon the results of the expedited educational neglect investigation, if
the school has reasonable cause to suspect educational neglect or other
forms of maltreatment, the school must make a report to SCR in accordance
with the procedures set forth in this regulation.

d. When the school reports suspected educational neglect regarding a child for
whom a Form 407 was generated, the 407 case remains open until the child
returns to school. For such cases, schools must enter the appropriate code in ATS
to reflect that the SCR report was made. In addition, in accordance with Section |
of this reqgulation, all reports to SCR must be recorded in OORs within 24 hours of
receiving the Call ID number from the SCR.

School officials are to cooperate with Department of Education attendance teachers in
regard to educational neglect referrals and provide access to school records, including
but not limited to the student’s permanent record and attendance record.

All questions regarding educational neglect referrals should be directed to the Office of
AttendaneeCounseling Support Programs, 52 Chambers Street, Reem-218,-New York,
New York 10007. The office may be contacted by telephone at {212)--374-6095-0805.

d B A

A report to SCR must be made whenever school
officials have reasonable cause to suspect child maltreatment, including neglect
or abuse, even if all of the conditions set forth hereirin Section |. E.1 above have
not been met.

PROCEDURES FOR COOPERATING WITH THE LOCAL CHILD PROTECTIVE SERVICES

(CPS) INVESTIGATIONS OF SUSPECTED CHILD ABUSE
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A

Investigations by CPS

1.

School personnel are legally obligated to cooperate in investigations of alleged child
abuse, whether or not the allegations are reported by school personnel. Investigations
may be conducted by local child protective services workers who are representatives of
the Office of Children and Family Services, or the New York City Administration for
Children’s Services (ACS) (collectively referred to as Child Protective Services or
“CPS”). Due to confidentiality restrictions imposed by state law, CPS workers are
prohibited from sharing information with any entity except those specified in the Social
Services Law.

CPS workers are often constrained from disclosing information to school staff.
Nonetheless, school personnel are required to cooperate with CPS workers to the best
of their ability.

Where a CPS worker wishes to question a student about a child abuse allegation
against a parent, guardian or custodian, the school must not contact the parent,
guardian or custodian. Where the allegation is against a person continually or regularly
found in the same household, the principal, in consultation with CPS, shall determine
whether to contact the parent.

The following procedures are to be followed when CPS investigations are conducted on
school grounds:

a.  Verify the CPS worker’s credentials by asking to the see his/her Photo I.D. card
and by calling the individual’s supervisor. However, school officials shall not
make photocopies the CPS worker’s Photo |.D. card.

b.  Permit CPS workers to have access to all school records relating to the child or
siblings. Parental consent is not required to release a child’s records to CPS
workers conducting an investigation.

c. Allow CPS workers to interview and examine, on school property, children who
have been reported abused or their siblings, regardless of the reporting source. A
member of the school staff familiar to the child may be present during the
interview if the child appears uncomfortable being alone with the caseworker.
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d. The CPS workers are authorized to remove a child’s outer garments, if in their
professional opinion, such removal is necessary to determine the nature and
extent of abuse. Under no circumstances are a child’s outer garments to be
removed by a CPS worker unless there is a second CPS worker or another school
official present. If a child’s undergarments need to be removed to conduct an
examination, the child must be taken to a hospital or Child Advocacy Center for
such an examination.

Transfer of Students to Child Advocacy Centers/Child Protective Centers for Multidisciplinary
Team Investigations and Child Protective Services Removals

Depending upon the individual circumstances, the investigation of a child abuse allegation
may result in a student being taken from school for appropriate follow up action. This may
occur either when: (1) a CPS worker removes a student and places him/her into protective
custody; or (2) the student is transferred to a Child Advocacy Center (CAC) or Child
Protective Center (CPC) for a multidisciplinary team investigation in a child friendly setting .
The following sets forth the procedures that schools must follow in such situations:

1. Students taken into Protective Custody

In certain situations, CPS workers/NYPD may remove a student from school and place
him/her into protective custody in order to ensure the child’s safety.

2. Transfer of Students to Child Advocacy Centers/Child Protective Centers

In cases involving allegations of physical abuse, sexual abuse and severe maltreatment
committed by a parent or person legally responsible, personnel from ACS, the New
York City Police Department (NYPD), and the District Attorneys’ Offices (DA) will work
together in multidisciplinary teams in order to accomplish the following objectives:

a. Ensure that evidence is gathered in a timely, effective, and coordinated manner;
and

b. Minimize trauma to the child(ren) during the investigation process by: reducing
the need for repetitive interviews and conducting joint interviews of child victims in
child-friendly surroundings, such as a CAC or CPC, whenever possible; and

C. Provide access to timely medical examinations and treatment performed by
qualified medical professionals for victims of child abuse at a CAC/CPC whenever
possible, having obtained appropriate authorization and consent; and

d.  Provide access to crisis intervention, victim advocacy and mental health services
for child victims and non-offending caregivers.

3.  Principals or designees must adhere to the following procedures when CPS workers
appear on the school premises to take children into protective custody or when one or
more members of a Multidisciplinary Team (MDT) appear to take children to a
CAC/CPC:

a. The school must permit CPS workers to take children into protective custody,
upon their presentation of a court order, parental consent, or a written statement
from ACS (Form 701-C) which indicates that emergency circumstances exist that
pose an immediate threat of harm to the child or children. The written statement
must be signed by the caseworker or supervisor, declaring their intention to take
into custody the specified child or children, in accordance with their statutory
powers. If the CPS worker fails to present a court-order or the 701-C form, the
principal/designee shall confirm with the CPS worker’s supervisor that the child is
being taken into protective custody.
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b.  The school must permit a member of the MDT to take a child to a CAC/CPC upon
presentation of the Child Advocacy Center (CAC) or Child Protective Center
(CPC) Multidisciplinary Team Release Form (Attachment No. 1) available at:
http://schools.nyc.gov/StudentSupport/NonAcademicSupport/
ChildAbuse/default.htm.

The written statement must be signed by the appropriate CPS/MDT member
declaring their intention to transfer specified child or children to a CAC/CPC in
accordance with their statutory power.

c. The school must verify the CPS/MDT member’s credentials by asking to see
his/her Photo 1.D. card and by calling the individual’s supervisor. However, no
school official is authorized to make photocopies of the CPS worker's/MDT
member’s Photo |.D. card.

d.  The school must immediately inform and forward a copy of the form or court order

authorizing the removal or transfer to the Field-Suppeort-CenterFSC Deputy
Director for Student Services.

e.  Each Field-Suppert-CenterFSC Deputy Director for Student Services must keep a
record of each case in which a child is removed from school or taken to a
CAC/CPC. A copy of the form or court order authorizing the removal or transfer
must be retained by the Field-Suppert-CenterESC Deputy Director for Student
Services in a secure place.

f. When the child is being taken for a CAC/CPC interview, a member of the school
staff may follow the child and caseworker to the indicated destination if the child
appears uncomfortable leaving with the CPS caseworker or if the child requests
that a member of the school staff accompany him/her. However, no school official
is authorized to be present in the actual interview room during the investigation,
nor shall he or she observe the interview.

g. In situations where the CPS worker has taken the child into protective custody
and removed the child from school, the school must notify the parent, guardian or
the designated emergency contact person by telephone immediately after the
child is removed from school by the CPS caseworker. If a parent or guardian
cannot be reached by phone prior to the end of the school day, school officials
MUST NOTIFY the police precinct of the child’s residence so that if the child is
reported missing by the parent, the police can inform the parent as to the
whereabouts of the child.

h. In situations where a MDT member transports a child to a CAC/CPC, the MDT
member shall notify the parent, guardian or designated emergency contact
person that the child was transported to a CAC/CPC and must provide the parent
with contact information.

i. In the event the parent contacts the school, the school shall advise the parent that
the student has been taken to a CAC/CPC and shall provide the parent with
contact information.

j MDT members shall be responsible for transporting the child or children to the
CAC/CPC and for returning the child or children to the school, home or other
appropriate destination.

. POLICIES AND PROCEDURES FOR ESCALATING ABSENCE NCERNS REGARDIN

STUDENTS INVOLVED WITH THE ADMINISTRATION FOR CHILDREN’S SERVICES (ACS)

A

The unexplained absence of a student involved with ACS may indicate that the safety of such

student is at risk. For purposes of this regulation, DOE students in foster care and DOE
students whose parents are or recently were under investigation by ACS as a result of a
report of suspected neglect or maltreatment made by DOE personnel to SCR are referred to
as ACS-involved students. In addition to implementing the school-wide attendance
responsibilities set forth in Chancellor's Regulation A-210, schools must closely monitor the



http://schools.nyc.gov/StudentSupport/NonAcademicSupport/ChildAbuse/default.htm

A-750

4/20/11/4/2016
CHILD ABUSE PREVENTION

10 of 12

attendance of ACS-involved students. In addition, when reviewing the attendance of their
ACS-involved students, schools must also take the follow-up action regarding parent

outreach, escalating concerns to ACS, and OORs reporting required by the Tiered Response
Protocol for High-Risk Cases of Educational Neglect and Unexplained Absence (“Tiered

Response Protocol”).
B. Identifyin nts Involved with ACS. hools must take st r ir th

Tiered Response Protocol to identify the students for whom the required protocol
applies. 1. Using existing data matches between ACS and DOE, the DOE will
generate and securely store a list of ACS-involved DOE students each month. The
FSC Deputy Director for Student Services will receive this information and disaggregate
it by school and timely disseminate schools’ lists of ACS-involved students to the
appropriate school’s principal/designee.

2. Schools must monitor the daily attendance of these students and determine whether
any such students fall into Tier I, Tier |l, or Tier lll, as defined below.

a.  Tierl

Tier | includes students for whom all of the following conditions are present:
e The child is in elementary or middle school (pre-kindergarten — 8th grade);
and

e The child’s family is under current ACS investigation or Court-Ordered
Supervision (COS); and

e The child has any unexplained absence or is being discharged from his/her
school.

b.  Tierll
Tier Il includes students for whom all of the following conditions are present:
° The child is in elementary school or middle school (pre-kindergarten — 8th

grade); and

° The child’s family was the subject of an ACS investigation for suspected

neglect or abuse that was substantiated in the current or prior school year;
and

° The child has at least three consecutive unexplained absences or is being
discharged from his/her school.
c. Tierlll
Tier Il includes students for whom all of the following conditions are present:
° The child is in elementary or middle school (pre-kindergarten — 8th grade);

° The child is currently in foster care (including trial discharge); and

° The child has at least three consecutive unexplained absences or is being
discharged from his/her school.

C. Review and Assessment. The school principal/designee must take the following steps to
monitor the attendance of students identified as falling into Tiers |, Il and Ill, as described

above.

1. Ensure that the school’s staff who are responsible for monitoring attendance and following
up with families regarding unexplained absences have access to the school’s list of
ACS-involved students, are aware of the relevant ACS indicator in ATS, and are familiar

with the procedures in this section.
2. Ensure that the school’s assigned designee or Attendance Coordinator prints a daily report

of absences/latenesses for ACS-involved students and provides this report to school
staff who are responsible for monitoring these students’ attendance.

[
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3. Assign a school-based point to individual ACS-involved students in Tiers I, Il and Ill as
necessary to check attendance daily, personalize daily absence calls, and build
familiarity with the student’s attendance and academic history. This person must also
make regular inquiries of classroom teachers and of the school health office and update

the ILOG records of these students with pertinent information about school progress or
issues that arise.

4. On a weekly basis, track the YTD rate of attendance and total days absent and late of Tier
I, Tier Il, and Tier lll students, either at the regular school Attendance Team meeting,
the principal’s cabinet meeting, or other structure set by the school for reviewing weekly
YTD attendance reports.

D. Escalation of Concerns to ACS and SCR. If at any point in the process of reaching out to
the family a staff member has reasonable cause to suspect that the child has been abused,
maltreated, or neglected, the staff member must: a) immediately report the suspicion to the
New York State Central Register (SCR) in accordance with Section | of this regulation; and b)
contact ACS in accordance with the procedures set forth in the Tiered Response Protocol. In
addition, if at any time the staff member has reason to believe that there is an emergency or
an imminent threat of danger to the child’s health and safety, the staff member must call 911.

v, LEGAL ISSUES FOR MANDATED REPORTERS

A.  Immunity from Liability and Legal Representation

Under Social Services Law, any school employee participating in good faith in the making of a
report, the taking of photographs, or the removal or keeping of a child, will have immunity from
any liability, civil or criminal, which might otherwise result by reason of such action.
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Good faith of the reporter is presumed, provided such persons are acting in the discharge of
their duties, within the scope of their employment, and that liability does not result from the
willful misconduct or gross negligence of such persons. The malicious filing of a report is
strictly prohibited and is not protected by law. Legal representation will be provided to good
faith mandated reporters who are sued for reporting a suspected case of child abuse.

B. Liability and Penalties for Failure to Report

Under Social Services Law, the willful and/or knowing failure to report child abuse may result
in criminal action or civil liability if the employee had reasonable cause to suspect it. It may
also result in disciplinary action against the employee by the Department of Education.

C. Prohibition against Retaliatory Action

School and/or other DOE officials may not take any retaliatory personnel action against a
mandated reporter because that reporter believes that he/she had reasonable cause to
suspect child abuse and therefore made a report as set forth herein.

D. Service of Subpoena upon School Staff

School staff must comply with all lawfully issued subpoenas. In the event a staff member
receives a subpoena to appear in court or to provide documents in connection with a child
abuse case, he/she must immediately contact the Field-Suppert-CenterESC Deputy Director
for Student Services and the Office of Legal Services at (212) 374-6888 for further
information and assistance.

If the subpoena is from a governmental agency, the staff member should contact the attorney
named on the subpoena and request that he/she be placed on telephone alert for the
pending court appearance. Telephone alert allows the staff member to remain in school until
his/her personal appearance is required. It is recommended that the staff member speak
with the government attorney before his/her court appearance regarding what to expect from
the hearing. The staff member may also request that the attorney arrange for him/her to wait
at the courthouse in a separate private room prior to his/her testimony.

V-V, RESPONSIBILITIES OF FIELD SUPPORT CENTERS AND CHILD ABUSE PREVENTION AND
INTERVENTION TEAMS

A—Establishmentof Teams
A. Field Support Centers

approve—each—school's—child—abuse—prevention—plan-The FSC Deputy Director for
Student Services is responsible for child abuse matters. In particular, the Deputy
Director is responsible for: a) reviewing, evaluating and approving each school’s child
abuse prevention plan; b) serving as a liaison with the DOE Citywide Coordinator for
Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention, the SCR, the local CPS and other service
roviders; c) establishing a working relationship with the local CPS, communit
agencies and other service providers to improve communication and services for
school staff, parents and students; d) receiving reports from principals on all cases

reported to the SCR and maintaining close communication with the local CPS; e)

providing ongoing support and training on child abuse prevention to school

administrators and school teams including preparing schools for a staff development
day which is to be held before November 30th of each vear; and f) developing and
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implementing the annual “Designated Liaisons Training described below in
collaboration with the DOE Citywide Coordinator for Child Abuse and Neglect

Prevention Program.

2. The FSC Deputy Director is also responsible for ensuring that schools receive and are
aware of information indicating the ACS-involved students in their schoos, in
accordance with Section |II.B of this requlation.

3——Sechool“B. Child Abuse Prevention and Intervention Feam”™—Teams

1. Each school principal must establish a School “Child Abuse Prevention and
Intervention Team.” In addition to the principal/designee, the school team shall include,
but is not limited to, an administrator, guidance counselor, UFT representative, parent
representative and other pupil personnel services representative(s), and a
representative of the School Leadership Team.
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4.2. Each principal shall designate a staff member from the Sehoselschool’s “Child Abuse
Prevention and-lntervention-Team” to serve as a liaison to the@EN#euth—Develepment
Child—Abuse—Prevention—Team—FESC Deputy Director for Student Services. The
designated liaison shall assist in facilitating interagency communication and the sharing
of information between the school, the local CPS and foster care agencies.

5-3. All teamsschool liaisons must receive intensive training in the identification and reporting
of suspected child abuse and maltreatment and the Department of Education’s

reportlng protocols Fhe-CEN-and-tsdesigreeshatb-in-—

4. The School Child Abuse Prevention and Intervention Team shall:

ta.

=3
>

®

g
[

Develop, implement and update on an annual basis a child abuse prevention and
intervention plan which must include educational programs on child abuse
prevention for school personnel, parents and students. The plan is included as
part of the school’'s annual “Consolidated School and Youth Development Plan”
which must be submitted by October 31st of every school year. -This-plan-shall-be

: " DOE Princinal’s Portal

Facilitate mandated reporting by providing training, materials and guidance on
child abuse prevention and intervention to all school staff. The school’s designee
shall attend the annual “Designated Liaisons Training” to obtain the most current
child abuse reporting protocols, updates and best practices. Teams may use, at
the discretion of the principal, faculty conferences and prep time, consistent with
contractual requirements, to prepare and present to staff relevant issues
regarding child abuse prevention.

Assist in planning and presentation of an annual child abuse prevention program
at a scheduled staff development day dedicated to child abuse or mental health
issues which must be conducted by November 30th each year.

Utilize local social service agencies to provide services/training to staff, students
and parents on child abuse prevention.
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Wi TRAINING PROGRAMS AND PARENT AND STUDENT EDUCATION

A

Training Programs

Training programs on child abuse prevention and intervention must provide all school
personnel with the information necessary to enable them to carry out their reporting
responsibility appropriately. Training must include:

1. Signs of physical and sexual abuse, physical neglect and emotional maltreatment.
2 How to make a report and cooperate with local CPS investigations.

3.  Characteristics of abusers and abusive families.
4

Techniques for managing and working with students and parents before, during and
after reporting incidents of child abuse.

5.  Understanding the family: cultural, religious and socio-economic factors.
6. Legal aspects and implications relating to reporting child abuse.
Parent Participation

1. All plans must include a parent education component. Parents should be informed of
the law relating to the school’s role in child abuse prevention and intervention, and
specifically, of the school’s obligation to report suspected cases of abuse or neglect.
Such component may include the establishment of a school-parent support group and
activities to develop parenting skills.

2. Parent education activities should be presented positively and delivered in terms of
what the school is prepared to do to protect children and help families.

3. Resources in the school and in the community should be used to offer both direct and
indirect support to parents and students.

Student Education

All plans must include a student education component through existing health and safety
programs to include at least the following:

e Age-appropriate information and activities for students about child abuse, sexual abuse
and assault.

o Various approaches to develop personal safety skills and prevention strategies: To help
personnel implement a student education component, a curriculum framework for abuse
prevention was developed by the Department of Education. Seasons of Peace:
Curriculum Frameworks for Abuse Prevention Education in Pre-Kindergarten - High
School has been developed to help students resist, and find help in coping with child
abuse and neglect, abduction, domestic violence, and dating violence. It enables
students to seek assistance and intervention in the event they, or someone they know, is
abused or suffers some form of family violence. Copies of the Seasons of Peace may be
obtained by contacting the Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention Program at the Central
Office.

ViVIl. NOTIFICATION

A

The CEN-Network-LeaderFSC Deputy Director for Student Services must provide a copy of
this regulation to every member of the CFN Youth Development Child Abuse Prevention
Team within their jurisdiction.

Each school must prominently post a copy of the revised “Highlight of Chancellor’s
Regulation A-750"- (aka the “Blue Card”) (Attachment No. 2). A copy may be obtained from
the DOE Child Abuse Prevention website at:
http://schools.nyc.gov/StudentSupport/NonAcademicSupport/ChildAbuse/default.htm.
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C. Each principal must provide all staff with a copy of the revised Highlights of Chancellor’s
Regulation A-750 (aka “Blue Card”).

D. Acopy of Chancellor's Regulation A-750 must be provided to any staff member who requests
it.

REPORTING TO THE CHANCELLOR

Child Abuse On-line Occurrence Reporting System (OORS) Report

The principal/designee is required to go on-line onto the Department of Education webpage,
access the On-line Occurrence Reporting System (OORS) and enter the “Call 1.D.” that was
provided by the New York State Central Register (Child Abuse Hotline). No information on the
“source” of the report may be entered as this information is confidential. The child abuse OORS
report must be submitted within 24 hours after the principal/designee is advised of the report to
SCR and receives the Call I.D. number.

The DOE OORS website may be accessed at: https://ats.nycboe.net/safety/portal/. The Office of
School and Youth Development provides a help desk to assist you with any technical questions you
might have. The help desk is available from 7:00 AM — 7:00 PM Monday through Friday. To
contact the help desk, dial (718) 935-5004 and ask for OSYD Web Support.

TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE

The Office of School and Youth Development can provide the assistance with this regulation,
developing a child abuse prevention plan, training, and educational materials on child abuse
prevention. Additional child abuse prevention materials and resources are available for school
officials at:
http://portal.nycboe.net/sites/FinanceAdmin/OSYD/SchoolPortal/StudentSupportServices/Childabuse/default
.aspx. For technical assistance contact the Citywide Coordinator of Child Abuse/Neglect
Prevention Program.

INQUIRIES

Inquiries pertaining to this regulation should be addressed to:

Telephone: Citywide Coordinator Fax:
212-374-0805 Child Abuse/Neglect Prevention Program 212-374-5751

N.Y.C. Department of Education
52 Chambers Street — Room 218

New York, NY 10007
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