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HIRING: STAFF QUALIFICATIONS

High-quality pre-K programs are staffed by educators that meet all the qualifications and certification requirements.

What You Need to Know

EDUCATION DIRECTOR QUALIFICATIONS
Education Director qualifications depend on your pre-K program license.

CHILD CARE (ARTICLE 47 DOHMH) PROVIDERS:
e Bachelor’s degree in Early Childhood Education or related field of study.
e Teaching license or certificate valid for services in the early childhood or childhood grades as

pursuant to New York State UPK regulations.

e At least two years of experience as a Lead Teacher in a program for children less than six
years of age.
SCHOOL-BASED (ARTICLE 43 DOHMH) AND GROUP FAMILY DAY CARE PROVIDERS:
e Bachelor’s degree in Early Childhood Education or a related field.

e Teaching license or certificate valid for services in the early childhood or childhood grades as
pursuant to New York State UPK regulations.

LEAD TEACHER QUALIFICATIONS
All Lead Teachers must have ONE of the following:
o Teaching license or certificate valid for service in the early childhood grades as set forth by
NYSED regulations. This includes: Early Childhood (Birth- Grade 2); (n-6); or (Pre-K-6)
certification.
o Teaching license or certificate for students with disabilities valid for service in the early
childhood grades.
o Bachelor’s degree in Early Childhood or a related field and a written study plan for obtaining
Early Childhood (Birth-Grade 2) certification.
o Teachers first hired in any city funded pre-K class prior to March 31, 2014 must have
their early childhood education certification by June 30, 2017.
o Teachers first hired in any city funded pre-K class on or after March 31, 2014 must
become certified within 3 years of their start date as a pre-K Lead Teacher.

Teachers with a certification in Childhood Education (Grades 1 to 6) do not meet Lead Teacher
certification requirements for Pre-K for All. These teachers must have a written plan for obtaining an
Early Childhood (Birth-Grade 2) certification within 3 years of employment.

In addition, all Lead Teachers must complete the mandatory 2 hours of training in child abuse
maltreatment identification, reporting, and prevention.

PARAPROFESSIONALS


http://www.emsc.nysed.gov/upk/regulations.html
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In full-day NYCEEC programs, there are two kinds of paraprofessionals that may support pre-K
classrooms: Assistant Teachers (also called Teaching Assistants), and Teacher Aides. Paraprofessionals
play an integral role in the pre-K classroom by promoting positive interactions with pre-K students and
families, implementing health and safety procedures, facilitating smooth transitions between activities,
and planning collaboratively with Lead Teachers. Paraprofessionals often provide direct instructional
support to students by facilitating whole and small group lessons and activities.

ASSISTANT TEACHER REQUIREMENTS
All Assistant Teachers must:

e Be at least 18 years old.

e Have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED).

e Hold avalid Level | or higher NYS Teaching Assistant certification.

o More information on Teaching Assistant certification can be found on the NY State
Education Department website.

e Complete the mandatory 2 hours of training in child abuse and maltreatment identification,
reporting, and prevention as well as the requirements of applicable statutes and
regulations.

e Complete 15 hours of training every 24 months, including the mandatory child abuse
prevention and other subjects related to child health, safety, and early childhood
development (Child Care Article 47 providers only).

TEACHER’S AIDE REQUIREMENTS
All Teacher Aides must:

e Be at least 18 years old.

e Have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED).

e Complete the mandatory 2 hours of training in child abuse and maltreatment identification,
reporting, and prevention as well as the requirements of applicable statutes and
regulations.

e Complete 15 hours of training every 24 months, including the mandatory child abuse
prevention and other subjects related to child health, safety, and early childhood
development (Child Care Article 47 providers only).

Frequently Asked Questions

1. How can you recruit qualified teachers?
You can access NYCDOE's free Early Childhood Teacher Finder (ECTF), an online tool to assist you in making

optimal pre-K teacher hiring decisions for your program. You can also post your pre-K teacher vacancies.
The ECTF includes two groups of teacher candidates:

1. Those who hold or will hold New York State teacher certification by September 1, 2015; and
2. Those who do not yet hold certification but who hold a Bachelor’s degree and have passed a rigorous

quality screening by DOE staff.

The Office of Teacher Recruitment and Quality (TRQ) provides one-on-one support with hard-to-staff
vacancies or any unique or complex hiring situations. If you have pre-K teacher vacancies, you are highly
encouraged to attend all of the Pre-K teacher recruitment fairs hosted by TRQ over the summer to meet early
childhood candidates and set up interviews. If you have questions regarding staffing, you should email TRQ at

teachnycprek@schools.nyc.gov or call 718-935-4627.


http://www.highered.nysed.gov/tcert/certificate/ta.html
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2. If ateacher is certified in a state other than New York do they need to become certified in New York?
All teachers must be certified through the New York State Education Department (NYSED). While NYSED has
“interstate reciprocity” agreements with certain states, candidates who qualify for interstate reciprocity must
still apply for and receive a Conditional Initial Certificate from NYSED in order for their certification to be
recognized by the NYCDOE. Programs should consult the New York Interstate Reciprocity List to determine if
the teacher may be eligible for certification in New York. Information on applying for the Conditional Initial
Certificate can be found on the NYSED website.


http://schools.nyc.gov/NR/rdonlyres/01785788-2584-4725-86AF-36A128809C90/0/InterstateReciprocityList.pdf
http://www.highered.nysed.gov/tcert/certificate/teachrecother.html

