THIS APPLICATION DOES NOT AUTHORIZE EMPLOYMENT
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APPLICATION FOR EMPLOYMENT CERTIFICATE

See reverse side of this form for information concerning employment of minors,

All signatures must be handwritten in ink, and applicant must appear in person before the certificating official.

PART I— Parental Consent — (To be completed by applicant and parent or guardian)
Parent or guardian must appear al the school or issuing cenler to sign the application for the first cenificate for (ull-time cmployment, unless
the minor is a graduate of a four-year high school and presents evidence thereof. For all other centificates, the parent or guardian must sign
the application, but need not appear in person to do so.

DAt e
|Appiicant] Age |Social Securty Number|
Home alfBSS ittt nneaa st s, APPIY [OF @ certiflicate as checked below:

[Full Home Addeess scluding Lip Code|
O Monfsctory Employment Certficate — Valid for lawful employment of a minor 14 or 15 years of age enrolled in day school when
attendance 15 not required,
O Student General Employment Certificate — Valid for lawful employment of a minor 16 or 17 vears of age enrolled in day school
when atlendance is not required.
O Full-Time Employment Cenificate — Valid for lawful employvment of a minor 16 or 17 years of age who is not attending day school.

[ hereby consent 1o the required medical examination and emplovment certification as indicated above.

" {Signature of Parent of Guardian]

PART II — Evidence of Age — (To be completed by issuing official only)

s s — Check evidence of age accepted — Document # (if any) oo
[Date of Birk)

Birth Certilicate State lssued Pholo [.D. Driver's License Schooling Record LO1, T R —
[Specity]

PART Il — Certificate of Physical Fitness

Applicant shall present a Certificate of Physical Fitness from a school or private physician. Said examination must have been given within 12
months prior o issuance of the emplovment certificate.

If the Certificate of Physical Fitness is limited, the issuing official shall issue a Limited Employment Centificate (valid for a period not 1o exceed
& months unless the limitation noted by the physician is permanent, then the certificate will remain valid until the minor changes jobs. Enter
the limitation on the employment certificate.

PART IV — Pledge of Employment — (To be completed by prospective employer)

Fart [V must be completed only for: (a)} a minor with a medical limitation; and (b) for a minor 16 years of age who is leaving school, and resides
in a district (New York City and Buffalo) which require a minor 16 years of age who is not employed to attend school, according to Section 3205
of the Education Law.

The undersigned will employ .. emssesesssess TEBIBITE BE covonrsimiises ittt sese b s e

[Applicanm)
[Description of Applicant’s Work| [lob Locaton]
4T RPN days per week ... NOUTS per day, BEINNINE ..o Bl i P
..................................................................................... Facto [T 11 T ORRORURRNIVRSTSOPURE - | | ORI ¥ ||}
|Name of Fam)| Y & po
Monfaciory
|Addreas of Firm|
......................................................... S1arUNg dale ..o o e
[Telephone Mumber] |Signature of Emphoyer]

PART V — Schooling Record — (To be completed by school official)
Part ¥ must be completed only for a minor 16 years of age who is leaving school, and resides in a district {New York City and Buffalo) which
require a minor 16 years of age 1o attend school, according o Section 3205 of the Education Law.

[ eertify That The FEEORES OF oottt s s 4834 8 880 80 1 D L1 4S8R b £ttt e
[Mame of Schoal] |Address]

SROW TIAL oo s bt e s e b bt bens ecs e oo ssacsemnsnssenseessraenres. WIEISE QALE OF BIFTR I8 covvecvvnersnc s e sonss o sses s sessssnnns
[Meme of Applicant]

500 AR oo s
|Signarure of Principal or Designee]

PART VI — Emplny'ment Cenrtification — {Tn be completed by issuing official only)
Certificate Mumber ., J— - —— D08 ISBUEH ..ottt s bbb e et

it o Tassing Camier] [Mdrm| [Scpll:umul'omeuﬂ]



GENERAL INFORMATION

An employment certificate (Student Nonfactory, Student General, or Full Time), may be used for an
unlimited number of successive job placements in lawful employment permitted by the particular type of certificate.

A Nonfactory Employment Certificate is valid for 2 years from the date of issuance or until the student turns
16 years old, with the exception of a Limited Employment Certificate. A Limited Employment Certificate is valid for a
maximum of 6 months unless the limitation noted by the physician is permanent then the certificate will remain valid
until the minor changes job. It may be accepted only by the employer indicated on the certificate.

A new Certificate of Physical Fitness is required when applying for a different type of employment
certificate, if more than 12 months have elapsed since the previous physical for employment.

An employer shall retain the certificate on file for the duration of the minor’s employment. Upon termination
of employment, or expiration of the employment certificate’s period of validity, the certificate shall be returned to the
minor. A certificate may be revoked by school district authorities for cause.

A minor employed as a Newspaper Carrier, Street Trades Worker, Farm worker, or Child Model, must obtain the
special Occupational Permit required.

A minor 14 years of age and over may be employed as a caddy, babysitter, or in casual employment
consisting of yard work and household chores when not required to attend school. Employment certification for such
employment is not mandatory.

An employer of a minor in an occupation which does not require employment certification should request a
Certificate of Age.

PROHIBITED EMPLOYMENT

Minors 14 and 15 years may not be employed in, or in connection with a factory (except in delivery and
clerical employment in an enclosed office thereof), or in certain hazardous occupations such as: construction work;
helper on a motor vehicle; operation of washing, grinding, cutting, slicing, pressing or mixing machinery in any
establishment; painting or exterior cleaning in connection with the maintenance of a building or structure; and other
listed in Section 133 of the New York State Labor Law.

Minors 16 and 17 years of age may not be employed in certain hazardous occupations such as: construction
worker; helper on a motor vehicle, the operation of various kinds of power-driver machinery; and others listed in
Section 133 of the New York State Labor Law.

HOURS OF EMPLOYMENT

Minors may not be employed during the hours they are required to attend school.
Minors 14 and 15 years of age may not be employed in any occupation (except farm work and delivering, or selling and
delivering newspapers):
When school is in session:
- more than 3 hours on any school day, more than 8 hours on a nonschool day, more than 6 days in any
week, for a maximum of 18 hours per week, or maximum of 23 hours per week if enrolled in a
supervised work study program approved by the Commissioner.
- After 7 p.m. or before 7 a.m.
When school is not in session:
- more than 8 hours on any day, 6 days in any week, for a maximum of 40 hours per week.
- After 9 p.m. or before 7 a.m.

This certificate is not valid for work associated with newspaper carrier, agriculture or modeling.
Minors 16 and 17 year of age my not be employed: -
When school is in session:

- more than 4 hours on days preceding school days; more than 8 hours on days not preceding school days
(Friday, Saturday, Sunday and holidays), 6 days in any week for a maximum of 28 hours per week.



- Between 10 p.m. and 12 midnight on days followed by school day without written consent of parent or
guardian and a certificate of satisfactory academic standing from the minor’s school (to be validated at
the end of each marking period).

- Between 10 p.m. and 12 midnight on days not followed by school day without written consent of parent

or guardian.

When school is not in session:
- more than 8 hours on any day, 6 days in any week, for a maximum of 48 hours per week.

EDUCATION LAW, SECTION 3233

“Any person who knowingly makes a false statement in or in relation to any application made for an
employment certificate or permit as to any matter by this chapter to appear in any affidavit, record, transcript,
certificate or permit therein provided for, is guilty of a misdemeanor.”
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