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SUMMARY OF CHANGES 
 
 

This regulation supersedes Chancellor’s A-250 dated November 20, 2008. 
 

Changes: 

 References to intermediate schools have been changed to middle schools. (p.1, Abstract;  
p. 2, Section III; p.3, Section IV). 

 District Family Advocates and Borough Family Advocates are authorized to issue all types of 
employment certificates and permits when schools are closed, and in certain other limited 
circumstances. (p. 2, Section III; p. 3 Section IV(C)). 
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ABSTRACT 

 
This regulation supersedes and replaces Chancellor’s Regulation A-250 
dated November 20, 2008 September 5, 2005 and outlines the procedures 
for the issuance of Employment Certificates for students in New York City.  
State law mandates the issuance of employment certificates for students 
eligible to receive them.  Only designated staff members in schools (public 
and non-public) have the legal authority to issue employment certificates.  
All public high schools and intermediate middle schools are required to 
issue employment certificates to students attending their schools who 
request such certificates.  All public high schools are also required to issue 
employment certificates to students who attend non-public schools.  All 
public schools are required to issue employment certificates until the last 
day of school in each school year.  High schools and intermediate middle 
schools that are open for instruction during the summer are required to 
issue employment certificates during the summer. 

 

I. EMPLOYMENT CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 

A. All Minors minors under 18 years of age (including college students, high school graduates, 
married, and volunteer workers) must obtain employment certificates in order to work 
(exceptions noted below).  However, employment certification is not required for a minor  
16 years of age or over who attends a recognized institution of higher learning and is 
employed by a non-profit college or university.  Minors 14 years of age or over are not 
required to have employment certification to work as caddies, babysitters or to engage in 
casual employment consisting of yard work and household chores in and about a residence 
or the premises of a non-profit, non-commercial organization, not involving the use of power 
driven machinery.  Minors 16 years of age working in agriculture are not required to have an 
employment certificate.  Employment certificates are not required after a student reaches 
his/her 18

th
 birthday. 

B. Employment certification is a legal procedure mandated under the New York State 
Education and Labor Laws.  School staff assigned the responsibility for employment 
certification act on behalf of the Chancellor. 

II. EMPLOYMENT CERTIFICATION PROCEDURES 

A. Each principal or designee of a junior high school or high school must implement a 
schedule of certification service that will: 

1. Alert the student body to where and when employment certification services will be 
available.  

2. Administer employment certification service through the last day of the official school 
calendar and during summer school (if they are open for summer school.). 

B. Minor students have the right to be issued appropriate employment certificates.  School 
authorities may not deny them without lawful reason.  Except as set forth below, an 
employment certificate expires two years from the date of issuance. 

C. Applicants for employment certification (other than applicants for child models under  
12 years of age) must apply in person to sign the certificate and/or permit. 

D. The minimum age for general employment is 14 years of age.  Students may not be 
certified for general employment prior to reaching their 14

th
 birthday. 

E. All employment certificates must be numbered.  Each category of certificate shall have two 
separate series of consecutive numbers, one for boys and one for girls, beginning with the 
first issuance of that type of certificate in September of each school year. 

F. Employment certification records must be kept in a central file at the school until the minor’s 
21

st
 birthday.  They must be accessible for presentation if subpoenaed.  They must be 
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forwarded in the student’s cumulative record folder when a school transfer is effected. 

G. Schools should advise students that if they intend to take positions in upstate communities 
they should obtain employment certificates prior to leaving New York City.  Employment 
certificates can be obtained outside New York City if required documents are available. 

H. Child Performer Permits may only be obtained through the New York State Department of 
Labor, Division of Labor Standards, Permit and Certificate Program.  Information may be 
obtained from the Department of Labor website at www.labor.state.ny.us.  

I. State law regulates permitted working hours for minors under 18 years of age (sSee 
Attachment A No. 1 – “Permitted Working Hours for Minors” and Attachment D No. 4  
“Explanation of Exceptions”). Hours can be extended under certain conditions during the 
school year when schools are open, and must be approved by the certifying officer at the 
student’s school. (See Attachment B No. 2 – Sample of Satisfactory Academic Standing). 

III. OBTAINING AN EMPLOYMENT CERTIFICATION 

To obtain an employment certificate, the student must submit an “Application for Employment 
Certificate” form (Form AT-17), see Attachment C No. 3) to the issuing official.  This form may be 
downloaded at:  

http://schools.nyc.gov/StudentSupport/StudentAttendance/WorkingPapers/default.htm. 

The “Application for Employment Certificate” form and all types of employment certificates and 
permits may be obtained from the student’s public high school, junior high school or intermediate 
middle school.  When public schools are closed, employment certificates may be obtained from 
the Senior Youth Development Director or designee at any Integrated Service CenterDistrict 
Family Advocate or Borough Family Advocate.   

The “Application for Employment Certificate” (Form AT-17) contains the following six parts: 

Part I – Parental Consent 

Completed by applicant and parent/guardian.  The parent or guardian must sign the application. 

For Full-Time employment (first certificate only), the parent or guardian must appear at the 
certification center to sign the application unless the minor is a high school graduate and presents 
documentation. 

For Part-Time employment and all other employment certification, the parent or guardian must 
sign the application, but need not appear in person. 

Part II – Evidence of Age 

The following original documents are acceptable as proof of age provided that the minor’s date of 
birth appears on the document: birth certificate (with official seal), duly certified record of baptism, 
passport (current or expired), citizenship papers, driver’s license or any other proof of age on 
school records which has been in existence for two years or more. 

Part III – Certificate of Physical Fitness 

The applicant must present a doctor’s note signed in ink by a health care provider, Department of 
Health or private physician stating that he/she is in good health to work.  If the doctor’s note 
indicates limitations, the issuing official shall provide the applicant with a “Limited Employment 
Certificate” and specify the occupation, employer and expiration date directly on the employment 
certificate. 

Part IV – Pledge of Employment 

This section must be completed by the prospective employer only under the following conditions: 
the applicant is 16 or 17 years of age seeking full-time employment and has not graduated from 
high school; or if the applicant is being issued a “Limited Employment Certificate.” 

Part V – Schooling Record 

This section must be completed by the student’s school if he/she is dropping out of school and is 
over 16 years of age and obtaining a full-time employment certificate. 

http://www.labor.state.ny.us/
http://schools.nyc.gov/StudentSupport/StudentAttendance/WorkingPapers/default.htm
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Part VI – Employment Certification 

This part of the application records the pertinent information concerning the issuance of the 
employment certificate.  This includes the official number of the certificate issued, the date of 
issuance, the issuing center and address, and the signature of the issuing officer. 

A. An applicant for a full-time employment certificate who is 16 or 17 years of age and wishes 
to withdraw from school prior to graduation must have parental consent and participate in a 
Planning Interview.  The Planning Interview is conducted at the school by a guidance 
counselor, assistant principal, principal or other designee of the principal.  The purpose of 
the Planning Interview is to reinforce the importance of a high school diploma, discuss the 
possibility of remaining in school and to provide information about alternative educational 
programs and the student’s right to attend school until age 21. 

B. If a minor is currently employed on a part-time basis by more than one employer, each 
employer must retain an original employment certificate on file during the minor’s period of 
employment.  An application (Form AT-17), with Part I (Parental Consent) completed and 
signed must be presented to the issuing office for each additional employment certificate. 

C. A lost or mutilated employment certificate may be replaced when the student presents 
another application (AT-17).  Only Part I of the subsequent application (Parental Consent) 
need be completed if the original certification documents (previously completed application 
and certificate of physical fitness within the year) are on file in the office issuing the 
replacement certificate. 

IV. CERTIFICATION SITES 

All public high schools, junior high schools, and intermediate  middle schools upon request must 
issue employment certificates to students who attend their schools.  All public high schools must 
issue employment certificates upon request to students who attend non-public schools. 

A. Public Schools - Designated school staff issue employment certificates to: 

1. All students 14 through 17 years of age who are on their registers. 

2. All former students 16 through 17 years of age who have been discharged from a 
high school register within one year of the current date and are not admitted to 
another New York City public school. 

3. All students 11 through 17 years of age who are requesting newspaper carrier 
permits. 

4. All high schools are required to issue employment certificates to non-public school 
students whose schools do not issue employment certificates.  Non-public school 
students must present documentation of current school registration. 

B. Non-Public Schools - Designated school staff at authorized private and parochial schools 
can issue employment certificates and are encouraged to do so in order to accommodate 
their students.  Non-public schools are authorized to issue employment certificates upon the 
successful completion of training conducted by the New York City Department of Education.  
Training is conducted upon request.  Employment certificates may be issued by non-public 
schools as follows: 

1. All students 14 through 17 years of age who are on their registers. 

2. All students 11 through 17 years of age who are on their registers and who are 
requesting newspaper carrier permits. 

C. District Family Advocates and Borough Family Advocates are available to issue all types of 
employment certificates and permits to: 

1.  Students seeking part-time employment certificates when schools are closed. 

2.  Minors under 18 years of age requesting special occupation permits (child models, 
newspaper carriers, street trades, and farm workers.) 

3.  Non-public school students under 18 years of age, if the school does not issue 
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certificates. 

4.  Out- of- state minors under 18 years of age. 

V. TYPES OF EMPLOYMENT CERTIFICATES AND EMPLOYMENT PERMITS 

A. Full-Time Employment Certificates - Issued to a minor 16 or 17 years of age who has 
obtained a “pledge of employment” for full-time employment, declares an intention to leave 
day school, and has had an exit interview, or is a high school graduate. 

B. Student General Employment Certificate - Issued to a minor 16 or 17 years of age who is 
enrolled in a day school but wishes to work after school hours, during vacation periods, or 
both. 

C. Student Non-Factory Employment Certificate  - Issued to a minor 14 or 15 years of age 
who is enrolled in a day school but wishes to work after school hours, during vacation 
periods, or both. 

D. Limited Employment Certificate - Issued to a minor 14 through 17 years of age with a 
medical limitation to work, according to the particular type of certificate indicated.  (Full-
Time, Student General or Non-Factory).  A limited employment certificate is valid for a six-
month period.  However, if the examining physician indicates upon the certificate of limited 
physical fitness that the physical disability of the minor is of a permanent nature, the 
certificate shall not expire at the end of six months, but shall remain valid as long as the 
nature and type of work set forth in the pledge of employment remains the same. 

E. Child Model Permit - Issued to a minor from infancy to 17 years of age, upon submission of 
an original doctor’s note, school record (if school age), and evidence of age. 

F. Street Trades Permit  - Issued to a minor 14 through 17 years of age to engage in the 
occupation of selling newspapers or periodicals (purchased from supplier) on the street or 
in other public places.  It also includes a self-employed minor 14 years of age who works in 
the capacity of shining shoes on the streets or in other public places (Form AT-22). 

G. Farm Work Permit – Special - Issued to a minor over 12 years of age to engage in the 
occupation of hand- harvesting of berries, fruits and vegetables (Form AT-25). 

H. Farm Work Permit - Issued to a minor 14 or 15 years of age to engage in the occupation of 
farm work (Form AT-222). 

I. Newspaper Carrier Permit - Issued to a minor (employed on a salary basis) through  
17 years of age to engage in the occupation of delivering newspapers, or other printed 
materials, to customers at their homes or places of business.  A certificate of physical 
fitness is not required for the issuance of a newspaper carrier permit if the applicant has 
documentation that he/she is qualified. 

VI. REVOCATION 

A certificate or permit may be revoked if school officials determine that the employment is 
affecting the student’s required school attendance, progress in school, health, and welfare.  Also, 
certificates and permits may be revoked if school officials discover that the issuance of the 
certificate or permit was based on false information.  In these circumstances, school officials must 
provide due notice prior to revoking the certificate or permit.  

VII. INQUIRIES 

Inquiries pertaining to this regulation should be addressed to: 

 

Telephone: 

212 -374- 6095 

Office of School and Youth Development 
N.Y.C. Department of Education 

52 Chambers Street 
        New York, NY 10007 

 

          Fax: 

212- 374 -5751 

 


