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SUMMARY OF CHANGES 

This regulation updates and supersedes Chancellor’s Regulation A-750 dated January 20, 2011. 

Changes: 

 Reflects the current Department of Education (DOE) organization, including Field Support Centers
(FSC).

 Clarifies the definition of educational neglect. (p. 5, Section I.E.1).

 Reflects NYCDOE policy, as set forth in detail in Chancellor’s Regulation A-210, that when a student
is absent for ten (10) or more consecutive days for unexplained reasons, educational harm may be
presumed and schools must conduct an investigation to determine whether the absences may be
related to educational neglect. (pp. 5-6, Section I.E.2).

 Provides that schools must monitor the daily attendance of students in foster care and students whose
families are or recently were involved in an investigation by the Administration for Children’s Services
(ACS) as a result of a report of suspected neglect or maltreatment made by DOE personnel to the State
Central Register (SCR) (referred to in this regulation as ACS-involved students). (pp. 9-11, Section III).

 Provides that by using an existing data match between ACS and DOE, schools will regularly receive
updated information regarding ACS-involved students in their schools to the extent permitted pursuant
to applicable legal authority. (p. 10, Section III.B).

 Provides that schools must conduct parent outreach and escalate concerns regarding ACS-involved
students to ACS and SCR in accordance with this regulation and the Tiered Response Protocol for
High-Risk Cases of Educational Neglect and Unexplained Absence (Tiered Response Protocol). (pp.
9-11, Section III).

 Clarifies that the FSC Deputy Directors for Student Services receive data regarding students involved
with ACS and provides that these deputy directors are responsible for disaggregating the data by school
and disseminating this information to the appropriate school’s principal/designee. (p. 10, Section III.B).

 Establishes that when a staff member has reasonable cause to suspect that an ACS-involved student
has been abused, maltreated, or neglected, the staff member must: a) immediately report the suspicion
to the New York State Central Register (SCR) in accordance with this regulation; and b) contact ACS
in accordance with the procedures set forth in the Tiered Response Protocol. (p. 11, Section III.D).

 Clarifies the responsibilities of the FSC Deputy Directors for Student Services as they relate to child
abuse prevention and intervention and implementation of the Tiered Response Protocol. (pp. 11-12
Section V).
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ABSTRACT 

This regulation updates and supersedes Chancellor‘s Regulation A-750 
dated January 20, 2011. 

New York State’s Social Services Law commonly called The Child 
Protective Services Law, mandates that school personnel report all cases 
of suspected child abuse and neglect directly to the State Central Register.  
This regulation updates and sets forth the obligations of school personnel 
to report suspected maltreatment, cooperate with investigations 
conducted by child protective service workers, and escalate concerns 
regarding absences of students whose families are or recently were 
involved with the Administration for Children’s Services. 

 

PREFACE 

A child is considered abused or maltreated if the child is less than 18 years old (21 years old or less if in a 
residential placement) and a parent or other person legally responsible for the child’s care harms the child, 
creates substantial risk of harm, or fails to exercise a minimum degree of care to protect the child. 

Below are summary definitions of abuse, neglect and maltreatment. 

PHYSICAL ABUSE 

Where the parent or person legally responsible for a child’s care inflicts or allows to be inflicted upon such 
child non-accidental physical injury or where a parent or person legally responsible for a child’s care creates 
or allows to be created a substantial risk of non-accidental physical injury to such child.  The term injury 
includes but is not limited to superficial bruises, welts, broken bones and other serious injuries, injuries 
which cause or would be likely to cause protracted impairment of physical or emotional health, and injuries 
which create a substantial risk of or cause death. 

NEGLECT 

The withholding of or failure to provide a child with adequate food, shelter, clothing, hygiene, medical care, 
and/or supervision needed for growth and development. 

SEXUAL ABUSE 

The sexual exploitation of a child by a parent, guardian, relative, caretaker, or other person which may 
range from non-touching offenses, such as exhibitionism, to fondling, intercourse, or use of a child in the 
production of pornographic materials.  

EMOTIONAL ABUSE 

Acts or omissions that cause or could cause serious intellectual, behavioral or psychological dysfunction 
as a result of such parent’s or caretaker’s behavior.  Emotional neglect – the withholding of physical and 
emotional contact to the detriment of the child’s normal emotional development.  Must be attributed to 
unwillingness or inability of the parent or custodian to exercise a minimum degree of care toward the child. 

EDUCATIONAL NEGLECT 

Educational neglect is considered to be the failure of a parent, or person legally responsible for a child, to 
ensure their child’s prompt and regular attendance in school or the keeping of a child out of school for 
impermissible reasons resulting in an adverse effect on the child’s educational progress or imminent danger 
of such an adverse effect. 
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I. PROCEDURES FOR REPORTING TO THE NEW YORK STATE CENTRAL REGISTER FOR 
CHILD ABUSE AND MALTREATMENT 

A. Making a Report 

1. All pedagogical and non-pedagogical school personnel are mandated reporters for child 
abuse.  Procedures for making educational neglect referrals are set forth in Section I.E 
below.  For procedures pertaining to investigating the circumstances surrounding a 
student’s unexplained absence to determine if a report to SCR is warranted, see 
Chancellor’s Regulation A-210 – “Investigation of Causes of Absence and the Form 407 
Tracking System.”  

a. When a child comes before a mandated reporter in his or her official or 
professional school related capacity and the reporter has reasonable cause to 
suspect that the child has been abused, maltreated or neglected (“child abuse”), 
the reporter is required to report the suspicion to the New York State Central 
Register (SCR) for Child Abuse and Maltreatment in Albany by telephoning the 
toll-free number 1-800-635-1522.  The reporter is not required to possess 
certainty or to interview the child before a report is made, only reasonable 
suspicion. 

b. Mandated reporters are also obligated to make a report if a parent, guardian, 
custodian or other person legally responsible for such child comes before the 
reporter in his/her professional or official capacity and states from personal 
knowledge facts, conditions or circumstances which, if correct, would render the 
child an abused or maltreated child. 

c. The mandated reporter must provide the SCR with the name, title and contact 
information for every staff person who is believed to have direct knowledge of the 
allegations in the report, to the extent the reporter has this information.  The 
reporter must provide information about the alleged child abuse and the child, 
including whether the child is receiving special education services and the nature 
of the disability, to the extent the reporter has such knowledge. 

2. When making the oral report, the caller must ask the SCR for the “Call I.D.” number.  
The “Call I.D.” number must be retained and used by school officials to complete the 
New York State Office of Children and Family Services Form LDSS 2221-A and the 
DOE On-Line Occurrence (OORS) Report.  (See Section VII “Reporting to the 
Chancellor.”)  In addition, the caller should request from the SCR the findings of the 
investigation. 

3. After making the report to SCR, the mandated reporter must immediately (and no later 
than the end of the school day), notify the principal/designee and provide him/her with 
the “Call I.D.” number.  As used in this regulation, "principal” also refers to the office 
head of a non-school site.  In school sites, the principal/designee must be a member of 
the school Child Abuse Prevention and Intervention Team.  The principal's/designee's 
responsibilities are set forth below.  If the principal chooses to delegate these 
responsibilities, s/he must appoint a designee on an annual basis. 

4. If the mandated reporter has reasonable cause to suspect child abuse and has direct 
knowledge that a report has already been made to the SCR by another mandated 
reporter in the school, he/she shall immediately either (1) report the suspicion to SCR 
directly as set forth above or (2) consult with the principal/designee. If the 
principal/designee confirms that another report has been made, he/she must 
immediately provide the “Call I.D.” number to the mandated reporter.  If the 
principal/designee does not provide the mandated reporter with the “Call I.D.” number 
by the end of the school day, or if the principal/designee does not confirm that a report 
has already been made to the SCR, the mandated reporter must immediately call in the 
report to the SCR and follow the procedures set forth above. 

5. The principal/designee or staff member then must prepare a written report using form 
LDSS 2221-A, within 48 hours after the phone call to the SCR.  This report must include 
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the name, title and contact information for every staff person who is believed to have 
direct knowledge of the allegation in the report.  Where the written report of abuse 
concerns a child with a disability, the report must include a description of the child's 
disability and the medical or related services being provided.  Copies of the form and 
the email addresses may be obtained on the DOE Child Abuse Prevention website at:  
http://schools.nyc.gov/StudentSupport/NonAcademicSupport/ChildAbuse/default.htm. 

The report must include the “Call I.D.” number provided by the SCR on the report form.  
This report must be emailed, mailed or faxed to the local Child Protective Service (CPS) 
field office in the borough where the alleged subject of the report lives.  Reports 
concerning children in residential care facilities should be sent to the OCFS, P.O. Box 
4480, Albany, New York 12204-0480, and reports concerning children in foster care 
should be sent to the New York City Administration for Children Services’ Office of 
Special Investigations at 127 West 127th Street – 3rd Floor, New York,  
New York 10027.  A copy of all reports must be kept in a separate file labeled Reports 
of Suspected Child Abuse, and stored in a secure place accessible only to the principal 
or his/her designee.  A copy of the report is also to be sent to the Field Support Center 
(FSC) Designee for child abuse matters. 

6. If the principal/designee receives additional information regarding a LDSS 2221-A 
written report that was previously made, the principal/designee must update that report 
and include any new information regarding the name, title and contact information for 
any additional staff person who has direct knowledge of the allegation.  This updated 
report must be submitted immediately as set forth above in  
Section I.A.5. 

7. Reports made by mandated reporters to the SCR are confidential, but reports cannot 
be made anonymously (S.S.L. §422 (4)(a)).  Therefore, mandated reporters must 
provide their names to the SCR.  However, local CPS workers are prohibited from 
releasing the name of the person making the report or the school affiliation to the parent 
or person in a parental relationship.  In addition, school employees are prohibited from 
disclosing the name of the mandated reporter or confirming that the school made the 
report to the family or any unauthorized individual.  The identity of the reporting person 
may only be given to the local CPS, to a court, grand jury, district attorney, police or 
other agencies allowed access by the Social Services Law. 

Any breach of confidentiality by a CPS worker in regard to the identity of the mandated 
reporter to the family under investigation must be immediately reported to the 
Department’s Office of Legal Services at (212) 374-6888. 

8. If additional incidents of abuse or neglect occur involving the same child, such incidents 
must also be reported whether or not reports have been made in the past. 

Addresses of the respective borough CPS offices (for mailing of form LDSS 2221-A) 
are: 

Local Register    Local Register 

Manhattan Field Office   Brooklyn Field Office 

Applications Unit     Applications Unit 

55 West 125th Street - 3rd Floor  1274 Bedford Ave. - 2nd Floor 

New York, NY 10027    Brooklyn, NY 11216 

Local Register    Local Register 

Bronx Field Office     Queens Field Office 

Applications Unit    Applications Unit 

2501 Grand Concourse    165-15 Archer Avenue - 3rd Floor 

5th floor      Jamaica, NY 11433 

Bronx, NY 10468 

http://schools.nyc.gov/StudentSupport/NonAcademicSupport/ChildAbuse/default.htm
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Local Register 

Staten Island Field Office 

Applications Unit 

350 St. Mark’s Place - 3rd Floor 

Staten Island, NY 10301 

9. In reporting suspected child abuse, principals or their designees may take, or cause to 
be taken at public expense, photographs of trauma visible on the child who is the subject 
of a report.  This will help preserve evidence for a subsequent investigation.  
Photographs taken are to be sent to the appropriate local CPS field office via certified 
mail or given to the investigating case worker. 

10. School personnel may not request the assistance from, nor cooperate with, the Society 
for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children (SPCC) in the reporting or the investigation of 
a suspected child abuse or neglect case.  While the SPCC is still in existence, this entity 
is no longer contracted by the local CPS to conduct child abuse investigations.  
Therefore, “reporting to private Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children is not 
an acceptable alternative and does not comply with the legal reporting requirements.”  
All reports of suspected child abuse must be made to the State Central Register. 

B. Procedures for Cases of Imminent Danger to a Child 

1. If a CPS worker has not responded by 3:00 p.m. and it is determined that the child’s life 
and/or safety is in imminent danger if the child returns home, the principal or designee 
must call 911 for emergency police assistance, after consulting with the FSC Deputy 
Director for Student Services. 

2. At any time, emergency medical service may be requested when warranted. 

C. Procedures when SCR Declines a Report and/or Refers a Report to Police 

1. If a SCR operator declines to accept a report, the caller may request that a SCR 
supervisor review the report.  In some situations after restating the facts, the report will 
be accepted by the supervisor.  If a report is not accepted, it is recommended that the 
reporter obtain the name of the SCR operator and/or supervisor who was on the 
telephone call.  In certain cases, the SCR will make a Law Enforcement Referral (LER) 
and refer the call to the New York City Police Department when the SCR worker 
determines that the person allegedly responsible for the abuse is other than the parent, 
guardian or other legally responsible person and cannot be the subject of a child abuse 
report, but determines that the alleged act or circumstance described may constitute a 
crime or an immediate threat to the child’s safety. 

2. When SCR refers certain calls to the New York City Police Department, school officials 
must cooperate with the police investigation and district attorney’s office.  Where the 
NYPD wishes to question a student about a child abuse allegation against a parent, 
guardian or custodian, the principal must permit the questioning to take place and must 
not contact the parent, guardian or custodian.  Where the police wish to question a 
student about a child abuse allegation against a person continually or regularly found 
in the same household, the NYPD, after consultation with the principal shall determine 
whether the questioning should take place without contacting the parent and the 
principal shall act accordingly.  In either case, the principal, or a person with whom the 
child is comfortable with should be present during the interview, unless the child 
indicates otherwise.  

3. A child’s records may be released if the police or district attorney informs the school that 
it is investigating an allegation of child abuse or neglect.  School officials must call the 
FSC Deputy Director for Student Services before releasing any records to the police or 
district attorney.  Parental consent is not required in these circumstances because of 
an exception in the federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 which 
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states, “An educational agency or institution may disclose personally identifiable 
information from the education records of a student to the appropriate parties in 
connection with an emergency if knowledge of the information is necessary to protect 
the health and safety of a student or other individuals.”    

4. Where the police wish to question students and/or staff or seek student records in 
connection with allegations of abuse committed against a child by someone other than 
a parent, guardian, custodian or individual continually or regularly found in the same 
household, the procedures set forth in Chancellor’s Regulation A-412 must be 
followed. 

D. Obligation to Report Misconduct to Special Commissioner of Investigation 

Every employee or officer of the Department of Education has an affirmative obligation to 
immediately report to the Special Commissioner of Investigation for the New York City School 
District any information concerning sexual abuse and/or misconduct involving students by 
Department of Education employees or others connected with school programs or services, 
whether on or off school premises.  The knowing failure of an employee or officer to report 
said misconduct is cause for removal from office or employment. 

The Special Commissioner of Investigation may be reached at: 

          (212) 510-1400 
80 Maiden Lane - 20th Floor 
    New York, NY 10038 

 

E. Policies and Procedures for Reporting Educational Neglect 

1. A report of educational neglect must be filed whenever a parent fails to ensure his/her 
child’s prompt and regular attendance in school or keeps the child out for impermissible 
reasons.  A report must be filed when the following conditions exist:* 

 The student is absent from school; and 

 There is reasonable cause to suspect that the parent is aware or should have been 
aware of the absences; and  

 There is reasonable cause to suspect that the parents contributed to the child’s 
absences or are failing to take steps to effectively address the problem and return 
the child to school  (i.e., failure to provide a minimum degree of care); and 

 There is reasonable cause to suspect educational impairment/harm to the child or 
imminent danger of impairment/harm (proof of actual educational harm is not 
necessary so long as harm can be reasonably presumed). 

2. Expedited Inquiry into Educational Neglect for Ten Consecutive Absences   

a. In accordance with Section IV.B of Chancellor’s Regulation A-210, when a child 
is absent for ten (10) consecutive days, educational harm may be presumed and 
schools must conduct an expedited inquiry in order to determine whether the 
absences may be related to educational neglect. A Form 407 Attendance Follow-
up and Outreach Referral will be automatically generated for all schools for this 
purpose.  

b. The school must record all information, outreach efforts, and interventions in 
either the ILOG System on ATS, directly on the Form 407, and/or as a comment 
code in ATS.  If the Form 407 case cannot be resolved at the school level, the 

                                            
*In situations in which a child is being home schooled, the Commissioner’s Regulations §100.10,  

 which sets forth requirements applicable to home schooling, should be consulted in considering  
 whether an educational neglect report to SCR is warranted.  (See Regulations and SED guidance at   

 http://schools.nyc.gov/StudentSupport/StudentAttendance/HomeSchooling/default.htm) 
  

http://schools.nyc.gov/StudentSupport/StudentAttendance/HomeSchooling/default.htm
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case must be referred to an attendance teacher for further investigation.  

c. Outreach and intervention must address the following factors: 

i. The school’s efforts to provide notification of the child’s absences to the 
parent;   

ii. The role of the parent: whether the school has been unable to make contact 
with the parent despite outreach efforts, whether the parent has resisted or 
rejected the school’s requests for information and assistance; whether the 
parent cannot provide an explanation for a child’s absences; and 

iii. Other considerations: whether the investigation of causes of absence 
reveals indicators of other forms of abuse or maltreatment. 

iv. Based upon the results of the expedited educational neglect investigation, 
if the school has reasonable cause to suspect educational neglect or other 
forms of maltreatment, the school must make a report to SCR in accordance 
with the procedures set forth in this regulation.   

d. When the school reports suspected educational neglect regarding a child for whom 
a Form 407 was generated, the 407 case remains open until the child returns to 
school.  For such cases, schools must enter the appropriate code in ATS to reflect 
that the SCR report was made.  In addition, in accordance with Section I of this 
regulation, all reports to SCR must be recorded in OORs within 24 hours of 
receiving the Call ID number from the SCR. 

3. School officials are to cooperate with Department of Education attendance teachers in 
regard to educational neglect referrals and provide access to school records, including 
but not limited to the student’s permanent record and attendance record. 

4. All questions regarding educational neglect referrals should be directed to the Office of 
Counseling Support Programs, 52 Chambers Street, New York, New York 10007.  The 
office may be contacted by telephone at 212-374-0805. 

5. A report to SCR must be made whenever school officials have reasonable cause 
to suspect child maltreatment, including neglect or abuse, even if all of the 
conditions set forth in Section I. E.1 above have not been met.  

 

II. PROCEDURES FOR COOPERATING WITH THE LOCAL CHILD PROTECTIVE SERVICES 
(CPS) INVESTIGATIONS OF SUSPECTED CHILD ABUSE 

A. Investigations by CPS 

1. School personnel are legally obligated to cooperate in investigations of alleged child 
abuse, whether or not the allegations are reported by school personnel.  Investigations 
may be conducted by local child protective services workers who are representatives 
of the Office of Children and Family Services, or the New York City Administration for 
Children’s Services (ACS) (collectively referred to as Child Protective Services or 
“CPS”).  Due to confidentiality restrictions imposed by state law, CPS workers are 
prohibited from sharing information with any entity except those specified in the Social 
Services Law. 

CPS workers are often constrained from disclosing information to school staff. 
Nonetheless, school personnel are required to cooperate with CPS workers to the best 
of their ability. 

Where a CPS worker wishes to question a student about a child abuse allegation 
against a parent, guardian or custodian, the school must not contact the parent, 
guardian or custodian.  Where the allegation is against a person continually or regularly 
found in the same household, the principal, in consultation with CPS, shall determine 
whether to contact the parent. 

The following procedures are to be followed when CPS investigations are conducted 
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on school grounds: 

a. Verify the CPS worker’s credentials by asking to the see his/her Photo I.D. card 
and by calling the individual’s supervisor.  However, school officials shall not make 
photocopies the CPS worker’s Photo I.D. card. 

b. Permit CPS workers to have access to all school records relating to the child or 
siblings.  Parental consent is not required to release a child’s records to CPS 
workers conducting an investigation. 

c. Allow CPS workers to interview and examine, on school property, children who 
have been reported abused or their siblings, regardless of the reporting source.  
A member of the school staff familiar to the child may be present during the 
interview if the child appears uncomfortable being alone with the caseworker. 

d. The CPS workers are authorized to remove a child’s outer garments, if in their 
professional opinion, such removal is necessary to determine the nature and 
extent of abuse.  Under no circumstances are a child’s outer garments to be 
removed by a CPS worker unless there is a second CPS worker or another school 
official present.  If a child’s undergarments need to be removed to conduct an 
examination, the child must be taken to a hospital or Child Advocacy Center for 
such an examination. 

B. Transfer of Students to Child Advocacy Centers/Child Protective Centers for Multidisciplinary 
Team Investigations and Child Protective Services Removals 

Depending upon the individual circumstances, the investigation of a child abuse allegation 
may result in a student being taken from school for appropriate follow up action.  This may 
occur either when: (1) a CPS worker removes a student and places him/her into protective 
custody; or (2) the student is transferred to a Child Advocacy Center (CAC) or Child Protective 
Center (CPC) for a multidisciplinary team investigation in a child friendly setting .  The 
following sets forth the procedures that schools must follow in such situations: 

1. Students taken into Protective Custody 

In certain situations, CPS workers/NYPD may remove a student from school and place 
him/her into protective custody in order to ensure the child’s safety. 

2. Transfer of Students to Child Advocacy Centers/Child Protective Centers 

In cases involving allegations of physical abuse, sexual abuse and severe maltreatment 
committed by a parent or person legally responsible, personnel from ACS, the New 
York City Police Department (NYPD), and the District Attorneys’ Offices (DA) will work 
together in multidisciplinary teams in order to accomplish the following objectives: 

a. Ensure that evidence is gathered in a timely, effective, and coordinated manner; 
and 

b. Minimize trauma to the child(ren) during the investigation process by: reducing 
the need for repetitive interviews and conducting joint interviews of child victims 
in child-friendly surroundings, such as a CAC or CPC, whenever possible; and 

c.  Provide access to timely medical examinations and treatment performed by 
qualified medical professionals for victims of child abuse at a CAC/CPC whenever 
possible, having obtained appropriate authorization and consent; and  

d. Provide access to crisis intervention, victim advocacy and mental health services 
for child victims and non-offending caregivers.  

3. Principals or designees must adhere to the following procedures when CPS workers 
appear on the school premises to take children into protective custody or when one or 
more members of a Multidisciplinary Team (MDT) appear to take children to a 
CAC/CPC: 

a. The school must permit CPS workers to take children into protective custody, 
upon their presentation of a court order, parental consent, or a written statement 
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from ACS (Form 701-C) which indicates that emergency circumstances exist that 
pose an immediate threat of harm to the child or children.  The written statement  
must be signed by the caseworker or supervisor, declaring their intention to take 
into custody the specified child or children, in accordance with their statutory 
powers.  If the CPS worker fails to present a court-order or the 701-C form, the 
principal/designee shall confirm with the CPS worker’s supervisor that the child is 
being taken into protective custody. 

b. The school must permit a member of the MDT to take a child to a CAC/CPC upon 
presentation of the Child Advocacy Center (CAC) or Child Protective Center 
(CPC) Multidisciplinary Team Release Form (Attachment No. 1) available at: 
http://schools.nyc.gov/StudentSupport/NonAcademicSupport/ 
ChildAbuse/default.htm. 

The written statement must be signed by the appropriate CPS/MDT member 
declaring their intention to transfer specified child or children to a CAC/CPC in 
accordance with their statutory power. 

c. The school must verify the CPS/MDT member’s credentials by asking to see 
his/her Photo I.D. card and by calling the individual’s supervisor.  However, no 
school official is authorized to make photocopies of the CPS worker’s/MDT 
member’s Photo I.D. card. 

d. The school must immediately inform and forward a copy of the form or court order 
authorizing the removal or transfer to the FSC Deputy Director for Student 
Services.  

e. Each FSC Deputy Director for Student Services must keep a record of each case 
in which a child is removed from school or taken to a CAC/CPC.  A copy of the 
form or court order authorizing the removal or transfer must be retained by the 
FSC Deputy Director for Student Services in a secure place. 

f. When the child is being taken for a CAC/CPC interview, a member of the school 
staff may follow the child and caseworker to the indicated destination if the child 
appears uncomfortable leaving with the CPS caseworker or if the child requests 
that a member of the school staff accompany him/her.  However, no school official 
is authorized to be present in the actual interview room during the investigation, 
nor shall he or she observe the interview. 

g. In situations where the CPS worker has taken the child into protective custody 
and removed the child from school, the school must notify the parent, guardian or 
the designated emergency contact person by telephone immediately after the 
child is removed from school by the CPS caseworker.  If a parent or guardian 
cannot be reached by phone prior to the end of the school day, school officials 
MUST NOTIFY the police precinct of the child’s residence so that if the child is 
reported missing by the parent, the police can inform the parent as to the 
whereabouts of the child. 

h. In situations where a MDT member transports a child to a CAC/CPC, the MDT 
member shall notify the parent, guardian or designated emergency contact person 
that the child was transported to a CAC/CPC and must provide the parent with 
contact information. 

i. In the event the parent contacts the school, the school shall advise the parent that 
the student has been taken to a CAC/CPC and shall provide the parent with 
contact information. 

j. MDT members shall be responsible for transporting the child or children to the 
CAC/CPC and for returning the child or children to the school, home or other 
appropriate destination. 

 

 

http://schools.nyc.gov/StudentSupport/NonAcademicSupport/ChildAbuse/default.htm
http://schools.nyc.gov/StudentSupport/NonAcademicSupport/ChildAbuse/default.htm
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III. POLICIES AND PROCEDURES FOR ESCALATING ABSENCE CONCERNS REGARDING 
STUDENTS INVOLVED WITH THE ADMINISTRATION FOR CHILDREN’S SERVICES (ACS) 

A. The unexplained absence of a student involved with ACS may indicate that the safety of such 
student is at risk.  For purposes of this regulation, DOE students in foster care and DOE 
students whose parents are or recently were under investigation by ACS as a result of a 
report of suspected neglect or maltreatment made by DOE personnel to SCR are referred to 
as ACS-involved students. In addition to implementing the school-wide attendance 
responsibilities set forth in Chancellor’s Regulation A-210, schools must closely monitor the 
attendance of ACS-involved students.  In addition, when reviewing the attendance of their 
ACS-involved students, schools must take the follow-up action regarding parent outreach, 
escalating concerns to ACS, and OORs reporting required by the Tiered Response Protocol 
for High-Risk Cases of Educational Neglect and Unexplained Absence (“Tiered Response 
Protocol”). 

B. Identifying Students Involved with ACS.  Schools must take steps required by the Tiered 
Response Protocol to identify the students for whom the required protocol applies.   

1. Using existing data matches between ACS and DOE, the DOE will generate and 
securely store a list of ACS-involved DOE students each month.  The FSC Deputy 
Director for Student Services will receive this information and disaggregate it by school 
and timely disseminate schools’ lists of ACS-involved students to the appropriate 
school’s principal/designee.  

2. Schools must monitor the daily attendance of these students and determine whether 
any such students fall into Tier I, Tier II, or Tier III, as defined below.   

a. Tier I  

Tier I includes students for whom all of the following conditions are present: 

 The child is in elementary or middle school (pre-kindergarten – 8th grade); 
and  

 The child’s family is under current ACS investigation or Court-Ordered 
Supervision (COS); and 

 The child has any unexplained absence or is being discharged from his/her 
school. 

b.  Tier II 

Tier II includes students for whom all of the following conditions are present: 

 The child is in elementary school or middle school (pre-kindergarten – 8th 
grade); and 

 The child’s family was the subject of an ACS investigation for suspected 
neglect or abuse that was substantiated in the current or prior school year; 
and  

 The child has at least three consecutive unexplained absences or is being 
discharged from his/her school. 

c.  Tier III 

Tier III includes students for whom all of the following conditions are present: 

 The child is in elementary or middle school (pre-kindergarten – 8th grade);  

 The child is currently in foster care (including trial discharge); and 

 The child has at least three consecutive unexplained absences or is being 
discharged from his/her school. 

http://schools.nyc.gov/NR/rdonlyres/3A97BB0B-9AD9-42BE-B27B-14E91424005E/0/TieredRespProtocoltruefinal.pdf
http://schools.nyc.gov/NR/rdonlyres/3A97BB0B-9AD9-42BE-B27B-14E91424005E/0/TieredRespProtocoltruefinal.pdf
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C. Review and Assessment.  The school principal/designee must take the following steps to 
monitor the attendance of students identified as falling into Tiers I, II and III, as described 
above. 

1. Ensure that the school’s staff who are responsible for monitoring attendance and 
following up with families regarding unexplained absences have access to the school’s 
list of ACS-involved students, are aware of the relevant ACS indicator in ATS, and are 
familiar with the procedures in this section.  

2. Ensure that the school’s assigned designee or Attendance Coordinator prints a daily 
report of absences/latenesses for ACS-involved students and provides this report to 
school staff who are responsible for monitoring these students’ attendance.  

3. Assign a school-based point to individual ACS-involved students in Tiers I, II and III as 
necessary to check attendance daily, personalize daily absence calls, and build 
familiarity with the student’s attendance and academic history. This person must also 
make regular inquiries of classroom teachers and of the school health office and update 
the ILOG records of these students with pertinent information about school progress or 
issues that arise. 

4. On a weekly basis, track the YTD rate of attendance and total days absent and late of 
Tier I, Tier II, and Tier III students, either at the regular school Attendance Team 
meeting, the principal’s cabinet meeting, or other structure set by the school for 
reviewing weekly YTD attendance reports.  

D. Escalation of Concerns to ACS and SCR.  If at any point in the process of reaching out to 
the family a staff member has reasonable cause to suspect that the child has been abused, 
maltreated, or neglected, the staff member must: a) immediately report the suspicion to the 
New York State Central Register (SCR) in accordance with Section I of this regulation; and 
b) contact ACS in accordance with the procedures set forth in the Tiered Response Protocol. 
In addition, if at any time the staff member has reason to believe that there is an emergency 
or an imminent threat of danger to the child’s health and safety, the staff member must call 
911. 

 

IV. LEGAL ISSUES FOR MANDATED REPORTERS 

A. Immunity from Liability and Legal Representation 

Under Social Services Law, any school employee participating in good faith in the making of 
a report, the taking of photographs, or the removal or keeping of a child, will have immunity 
from any liability, civil or criminal, which might otherwise result by reason of such action.   
Good faith of the reporter is presumed, provided such persons are acting in the discharge of 
their duties, within the scope of their employment, and that liability does not result from the 
willful misconduct or gross negligence of such persons.  The malicious filing of a report is 
strictly prohibited and is not protected by law.  Legal representation will be provided to good 
faith mandated reporters who are sued for reporting a suspected case of child abuse. 

B. Liability and Penalties for Failure to Report 

Under Social Services Law, the willful and/or knowing failure to report child abuse may result 
in criminal action or civil liability if the employee had reasonable cause to suspect it.  It may 
also result in disciplinary action against the employee by the Department of Education. 

C. Prohibition against Retaliatory Action 

School and/or other DOE officials may not take any retaliatory personnel action against a 
mandated reporter because that reporter believes that he/she had reasonable cause to 
suspect child abuse and therefore made a report as set forth herein. 

D. Service of Subpoena upon School Staff 

School staff must comply with all lawfully issued subpoenas.  In the event a staff member 
receives a subpoena to appear in court or to provide documents in connection with a child 
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abuse case, he/she must immediately contact the FSC Deputy Director for Student Services 
and the Office of Legal Services at (212) 374-6888 for further information and assistance. 

If the subpoena is from a governmental agency, the staff member should contact the attorney 
named on the subpoena and request that he/she be placed on telephone alert for the pending 
court appearance.  Telephone alert allows the staff member to remain in school until his/her 
personal appearance is required.  It is recommended that the staff member speak with the 
government attorney before his/her court appearance regarding what to expect from the 
hearing.  The staff member may also request that the attorney arrange for him/her to wait at 
the courthouse in a separate private room prior to his/her testimony. 

 

V. RESPONSIBILITIES OF FIELD SUPPORT CENTERS AND CHILD ABUSE PREVENTION AND 
INTERVENTION TEAMS 

A. Field Support Centers 

1. The FSC Deputy Director for Student Services is responsible for child abuse matters. 
In particular, the Deputy Director is responsible for: a) reviewing, evaluating and 
approving each school’s child abuse prevention plan; b) serving as a liaison with the 
DOE Citywide Coordinator for Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention, the SCR, the local 
CPS and other service providers; c) establishing a working relationship with the local 
CPS, community agencies and other service providers to improve communication and 
services for school staff, parents and students; d) receiving reports from principals on 
all cases reported to the SCR and maintaining  close communication with the local CPS; 
e) providing  ongoing support and training on child abuse prevention to school 
administrators and school teams including preparing schools for a staff development 
day which is to be held before November 30th of each year; and f) developing  and 
implementing  the annual “Designated Liaisons Training described below in  
collaboration with the DOE Citywide Coordinator for Child Abuse and Neglect 
Prevention Program. 

2. The FSC Deputy Director is also responsible for ensuring that schools receive and are 
aware of information indicating the ACS-involved students in their schoos, in 
accordance with Section III.B of this regulation. 

B. Child Abuse Prevention and Intervention Teams 

1. Each school principal must establish a School “Child Abuse Prevention and Intervention 
Team.”  In addition to the principal/designee, the school team shall include, but is not 
limited to, an administrator, guidance counselor, UFT representative, parent 
representative and other pupil personnel services representative(s), and a 
representative of the School Leadership Team. 

2. Each principal shall designate a staff member from the school’s “Child Abuse 
Prevention Team” to serve as a liaison to FSC Deputy Director for Student Services. 
The designated liaison shall assist in facilitating interagency communication and the 
sharing of information between the school, the local CPS and foster care agencies. 

3. All school liaisons must receive intensive training in the identification and reporting of 
suspected child abuse and maltreatment and the Department of Education’s reporting 
protocols.  

4. The School Child Abuse Prevention and Intervention Team shall: 

a. Develop, implement and update on an annual basis a child abuse prevention and 
intervention plan which must include educational programs on child abuse 
prevention for school personnel, parents and students.  The plan is included as 
part of the school’s annual “Consolidated School and Youth Development Plan” 
which must be submitted by October 31st of every school year.  

b. Facilitate mandated reporting by providing training, materials and guidance on 
child abuse prevention and intervention to all school staff.  The school’s designee 
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shall attend the annual “Designated Liaisons Training” to obtain the most current 
child abuse reporting protocols, updates and best practices.  Teams may use, at 
the discretion of the principal, faculty conferences and prep time, consistent with 
contractual requirements, to prepare and present to staff relevant issues 
regarding child abuse prevention. 

c. Assist in planning and presentation of an annual child abuse prevention program 
at a scheduled staff development day dedicated to child abuse or mental health 
issues which must be conducted by November 30th each year. 

d. Utilize local social service agencies to provide services/training to staff, students 
and parents on child abuse prevention. 

VI. TRAINING PROGRAMS AND PARENT AND STUDENT EDUCATION 

A. Training Programs 

Training programs on child abuse prevention and intervention must provide all school 
personnel with the information necessary to enable them to carry out their reporting 
responsibility appropriately.  Training must include: 

1. Signs of physical and sexual abuse, physical neglect and emotional maltreatment. 

2. How to make a report and cooperate with local CPS investigations. 

3. Characteristics of abusers and abusive families. 

4. Techniques for managing and working with students and parents before, during and 
after reporting incidents of child abuse. 

5. Understanding the family: cultural, religious and socio-economic factors. 

6. Legal aspects and implications relating to reporting child abuse. 

B. Parent Participation 

1. All plans must include a parent education component.  Parents should be informed of 
the law relating to the school’s role in child abuse prevention and intervention, and 
specifically, of the school’s obligation to report suspected cases of abuse or neglect.  
Such component may include the establishment of a school-parent support group and 
activities to develop parenting skills. 

2. Parent education activities should be presented positively and delivered in terms of 
what the school is prepared to do to protect children and help families. 

3. Resources in the school and in the community should be used to offer both direct and 
indirect support to parents and students. 

C. Student Education 

All plans must include a student education component through existing health and safety 
programs to include at least the following: 

 Age-appropriate information and activities for students about child abuse, sexual abuse 
and assault. 

 Various approaches to develop personal safety skills and prevention strategies:  To help 
personnel implement a student education component, a curriculum framework for abuse 
prevention was developed by the Department of Education.  Seasons of Peace: 
Curriculum Frameworks for Abuse Prevention Education in Pre-Kindergarten - High 
School has been developed to help students resist, and find help in coping with child 
abuse and neglect, abduction, domestic violence, and dating violence.  It enables 
students to seek assistance and intervention in the event they, or someone they know, 
is abused or suffers some form of family violence.  Copies of the Seasons of Peace may 
be obtained by contacting the Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention Program at the 
Central Office. 
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VII. NOTIFICATION 

A. The FSC Deputy Director for Student Services must provide a copy of this regulation to every 
member of the Youth Development Child Abuse Prevention Team within their jurisdiction. 

B. Each school must prominently post a copy of the revised “Highlight of Chancellor’s Regulation 
A-750”– (aka the “Blue Card”) (Attachment No. 2).  A copy may be obtained from the DOE 
Child Abuse Prevention website at:  
http://schools.nyc.gov/StudentSupport/NonAcademicSupport/ChildAbuse/default.htm. 

C. Each principal must provide all staff with a copy of the revised Highlights of Chancellor’s 
Regulation A-750 (aka “Blue Card”). 

D. A copy of Chancellor’s Regulation A-750 must be provided to any staff member who requests 
it. 

VIII. REPORTING TO THE CHANCELLOR 

Child Abuse On-line Occurrence Reporting System (OORS) Report 

The principal/designee is required to go on-line onto the Department of Education webpage, access 
the On-line Occurrence Reporting System (OORS) and enter the “Call I.D.” that was provided by 
the New York State Central Register (Child Abuse Hotline).  No information on the “source” of the 
report may be entered as this information is confidential.  The child abuse OORS report must be 
submitted within 24 hours after the principal/designee is advised of the report to SCR and receives 
the Call I.D. number. 

The DOE OORS website may be accessed at:  https://ats.nycboe.net/safety/portal/.  The Office of 
School and Youth Development provides a help desk to assist you with any technical questions 
you might have.  The help desk is available from 7:00 AM – 7:00 PM Monday through Friday.  To 
contact the help desk, dial (718) 935-5004 and ask for OSYD Web Support. 

IX. TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE 

The Office of School and Youth Development can provide the assistance with this regulation, 
developing a child abuse prevention plan, training, and educational materials on child abuse 
prevention.  Additional child abuse prevention materials and resources are available for school 
officials at: 
http://portal.nycboe.net/sites/FinanceAdmin/OSYD/SchoolPortal/StudentSupportServices/Childabuse/default

.aspx.  For technical assistance contact the Citywide Coordinator of Child Abuse/Neglect Prevention 
Program. 

X. INQUIRIES 

Inquiries pertaining to this regulation should be addressed to: 

Telephone: 

212-374-0805 

Citywide Coordinator 
Child Abuse/Neglect Prevention Program 

N.Y.C. Department of Education 
52 Chambers Street – Room 218 

New York, NY 10007 

Fax: 

212-374-5751 

 
 

http://schools.nyc.gov/StudentSupport/NonAcademicSupport/ChildAbuse/default.htm
https://ats.nycboe.net/safety/portal/
http://portal.nycboe.net/sites/FinanceAdmin/OSYD/SchoolPortal/StudentSupportServices/Childabuse/default.aspx.
http://portal.nycboe.net/sites/FinanceAdmin/OSYD/SchoolPortal/StudentSupportServices/Childabuse/default.aspx.
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CHILD ADVOCACY CENTER (CAC) OR CHILD PROTECTIVE CENTER (CPC) 

MULTIDISCIPLINARY TEAM RELEASE FORM 

To All School Principals: 

Pursuant to Chancellor’s Regulation A-750, the investigation of a child abuse allegation may result in a 
student being transferred to a Child Advocacy Center (CAC) or Child Protective Center (CPC) for a 
Multidisciplinary Team Investigation.  You must permit an authorized member of the New York City 
Administration for Children’s Services (ACS) or the New York City Police Department (NYPD) to take a 
child to a CAC/CPC upon their completion of the release form below and after verifying their credentials by 
asking to see a Photo I.D. card and calling the individual’s supervisor. 

 

RELEASE FORM 

The undersigned employee of the ACS and/or NYPD is authorized to conduct child protective  
investigations in accordance with New York Social Services Law, and the Memorandum of Understanding  
Among the Administration for Children’s Services, the New York City District Attorney’s Offices, and the  
New York City Police Department, requires that the child named below be released to assist in the conduct 
of such investigation. The undersigned employee is responsible for transporting the child to  
 

 __________________________________________________________________________ 

Name and Address of Child Advocacy Center/Child Protective Center (CAC/CPC) 

for the purpose of an interview and for returning the child to the school, home, or other appropriate 
destination.  The undersigned employee is also be responsible for notifying the parent, guardian or 
designated emergency contact person that the child was transported to a CAC/CPC and for providing 
him/her with the appropriate contact information. 
 
 
_______________________________________   _________________________  
   Name of Child               Date of Birth 
    
    Agency Making Request  NYPD 
                     ACS 
 
         
             
                             ____________________________ 
            Date     
 
__________________________________________   _____________________________________ 
  Name of Employee     Name of Supervisor 
 
__________________________________________ ______________________________________ 
  Title of Employee    Telephone Number of Supervisor 
 
__________________________________________ 
  Telephone Number 

__________________________________________ 
Signature of Employee
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HIGHLIGHTS OF CHANCELLOR’S REGULATION A-750 
 

IF YOU HAVE REASONABLE CAUSE TO SUSPECT MALTREATMENT: 

Mandated Reporter must personally make the report by calling the State Central Register (SCR) –  
1 (800) 635-1522 

Immediately call it into the SCR and obtain a “Call I.D.” number 

The mandated reporter must identify the name, title, and contact information for all the school officials 
having direct knowledge of the allegations. 

Inform the Principal or Designee of the allegations and the “Call I.D.” number 

After the oral report is made to the SCR, immediately notify the “Principal or Designee” of the allegations 
and of the “Call I.D.” number obtained from the SCR. 

Submit Written Report LDSS – 2221 A within 48 hours 

Principal/Designee prepares the LDSS-2221 A and will email, mail, or fax the form to the Administration 
for Children’s Services (ACS) in the borough where the alleged subject lives.  The form must include 

name, title, and contact information for all the school officials having direct knowledge of the allegations.  
Copies of the LDSS-2221 A form and the email addresses may be obtained at: 
http://schools.nyc.gov/Offices/DYD/OYD/OSS/ChildAbuse/AdditionalResources 

Complete a Department of Education “OORS” report immediately 

Principal/Designee enters the “Call I.D.” number obtained from the SCR and indicates the type of abuse 
that was reported on the “Online Occurrence Reporting System” (OORS). 

Report to the Senior Youth Development Director (OYD) 

A copy of the LDSS-2221 A form is submitted to the Senior Youth Development Director/Designee. 
____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Local Child Protective Services Investigation Process 

ACS investigates all reports of suspected child abuse and neglect and offers a broad range of services to 
children and families when family circumstances threaten the well-being of children. 

▼ 
State Central Register Transmits Report to the Local ACS Application Section 

ACS receives report from the SCR and immediately determines if the family is known to ACS.  ACS 
enters this information on the report and immediately assigns it to a Field Unit for investigation.  ACS is 

mandated to initiate an investigation of the allegation(s) within 24 hours of receiving report.  The source of 
the report must be contacted. 

▼ 
Protective/Diagnostic Field Unit Supervisor 

Reviews report and immediately assigns the case to a caseworker for investigation. 
▼ 

Protective/Diagnostic Caseworker 

Discusses report with the Supervisor, initiates investigation, does a complete assessment and determines 
whether or not, based on the investigation, some credible evidence has been found to support the report.  

Based on assessment, a service plan is developed.  ACS has up to 60 days to make a determination. 
____________________________________________________________________________________ 

REPORT BREACH OF CONFIDENTIALITY TO THE DOE OFFICE OF LEGAL SERVICES AT 212-374-6888 
____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Obligation to Report Sexual Misconduct to the Special Commissioner of Investigation 212-510 1400 

Every employee has an affirmative obligation to immediately report to the Special Commissioner of 
Investigation any information concerning sexual abuse and/or misconduct involving students by 
Department of Education employees or others connected with school programs or services, whether on or 
off school premises.  Where the alleged misconduct constitutes a crime, the Principal/Supervisor must 
notify the police. 

http://schools.nyc.gov/Offices/DYD/OYD/OSS/ChildAbuse/AdditionalResources
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