Meet the Recipients

Congratulations to our 2014-15 Big Apple Fellows!

The 2014 Big Apple Award recipients were chosen from a pool of more than 3,000 nominations, representing a diversity of grade levels, subject areas, and each of the five New York City boroughs. In addition to continuing their outstanding work in the classroom, these model educators are also spending the 2014-15 school year serving as Big Apple Fellows--representing teachers citywide by serving as advisers to the Chancellor.

Click on each teacher's photo to learn more about the differences they've made in their classrooms.

  • Pre-Kindergarten
    P.S. 188 Kingsbury (26Q188)
  • 7th grade Math
    New York City Lab Middle School for Collaborative Studies (02M312)
  • 7th and 8th grade Math
    Renaissance Charter School (84Q705)
  • Third grade
    P.S. 310 (20K310)
  • Third grade
    TAG Young Scholars (04M012)
  • 8th grade Social Studies
    J.H.S. 123 James M. Kieran (08X123)
  • 11th grade Social Studies
    Bronx Center for Science and Mathematics (09X260)
  • Special Education (Grades 2-5)
    P.S. 55 Henry M. Boehm (31R055)
  • Special Education (District 75 - Students Age 16-21)
    The Richard H. Hungerford School (75R721)
  • 8th grade English Language Arts
    Frederick Douglass Academy VIII Middle School (19K452)
Click above for more 2014-15 Big Apple Fellow profiles.

The Big Apple Fellowship provides opportunities for award recipients to develop as leaders and have a positive impact on their colleagues citywide. Big Apple Fellows will advise the Chancellor on policies and programs and serve as a resource to the greater community on excellent teaching in New York City. Learn more about the Big Apple Fellowship Year.